day two


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
June 25th 2008
Published: June 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

la guernicala guernicala guernica

This is the famous ¨guernica¨of picasso.
Yesterday was a long day. Good... but long! After my last blog, I met up with that professor guy for dinner. We found a neat & authentic Spain restaurant near one of the main plazas in Madrid. We enjoyed a wonderful meal, full of good bread and excellent pasta. At the end of the meal, the server brought us a dessert (on the house) that was a mandarin orange frozen drink with some kind of liquor in it. It was delicious! After dinner, we roamed the town a bit. Then, back at the hostel, I made friends with a girl from Chile. It was awesome to be immersed in Spanish and learn about a different culture at the same time. I guess it defined the entire purpose of me being here. We managed to make it out to a local club with one of the hostel owners. He showed us around the area... and it was nice to have that experience without a fear of getting lost in a strange part of town late at night.

I got to bed around 3am Madrid time. When I woke up this morning, the room was STEAMY! However, a quick trip to the balcony & the cool morning air filled the room. It felt great. I had a free breakfast here that consisted of rolls and some awesome coffee (necessary to wake me up). Now I´m headed to the train station to drop my luggage and buy a ticket for the AVE (the fast train). After I get that taken care of, I´ll head to the art museum. Hopefully I´ll get a chance to write this evening when I arrive in Cordoba. For now, I´ve included a picture of the AMAZING artwork that I´m about to see in person.

I hope you´re all well. Mom, give Zoie a pat on the head again. Tell her that I miss her.

Advertisement



25th June 2008

so jealous!
Oh! To be young, single, and spending the summer in Europe! Can you tell how jealous I am?? Have a great time and enjoy every single second of this adventure. Peggy
26th June 2008

incredible
Dear Awesome Wonder! How great to see you in MN before your departure to the great wider world. You are so ahead of your mother and me -- my challenge was to figure out how to do this blog thing and your mother's challenge will be to figure out how to take a trip out of state next summer. Let's keep coaching her. Love you much, Katie

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 9; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0315s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb