First Day of Classes!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
May 20th 2008
Published: May 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Our beds!Our beds!Our beds!

We pushed all of our 3 single beds to make one huge bed. We're moving into a bigger room Friday=)
Hola!
Well I finally got to Madrid late Sunday night..We switched flights in London--and our British Air flight ended up being an hour late to London from Dulles so my friend Bridget and I had to sprint across the airport ( I literally took off my shoes to run ) and we had to switch terminals AND go through security again in the new terminal and only had 30 MINUTES till our flight took off! They held the plane for us so we made it, unfortunately our luggage did not...

So I finally got my luggage LATE last night(monday) after fighting with Iberia for about 2 hours. They delivered it to my casa here. We live with our madre and her daughter who is 15. We lucked out and have wireless in our apartment!! We are the only ones from Tech I think that lucked out with wireless. Apartments here are SO much smaller than in the U.S. but like we learned, you don't invite people to your house and what not for a party, toda esta en la calle, or everything is in the street. People are ALWAYS outside socializing. We are in a really nice part of Madrid..we actually walked to class and it only took about 25 minutes--which is just as long as the metro.

The metro is so confusing. We have to switch lines to get to school. Theres 15 lines!!!! It's crazy. We are actually one stop from Atocha Renfe--which is where the bombing was a few years ago. (See the picture of the memorial) I'm actually used to the time difference already..I think haha. The mornings are a little hard because we wake up around 730 which is 130 am at home, which is what time I normally go to bed!!

But today was the first day of classes. Classes are Monday-Thursday 9am-1pm but we have two breaks-one is 30 minutes and the other is 15. Class actually flew by today. I'm taking Spanish 4104 which is Translation. My teacher is 25, shes really nice but we already have homework..=( tear

THE FOOD is the biggest change. NO ONE eats breakfast and if they do, its a banana and cafe. I'm used to eggs, cereal, oatmeal, etc. Oh and they don't refrigerate the milk, weird..I refuse to drink it. Lunch is around 2 pm..Our madre packs us a bocadillo (sandwhich) which is bread and tortilla, which is potatos and umm something else we're not quite sure but its good! hahaha. Dinner is at 930 PM!!!!! This is really hard for me to get used to..But last night our main dish was Cauliflower!! It was a casserole and it was gooood! Also, they serve fish with the EYES ON IT and the skin ew it is Soooo gross haha. SEE THE PICTURE. Yuckkkk.

We went out last night. Mmmm Sangria=) Also, at home I would go out for the night around 9. Well since dinner here is at 9, people go out MUCH later. We went out last night at 1230!! and didn't get back till 4..and had class at 9!! i dont get how they do it!!

Well its TIME FOR A SIESTA!! my favorite part of the day=) HASTA LUEGO!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0359s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb