Day 4 and 5


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
January 15th 2008
Published: January 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So yesterday was a long day as well. I woke up late and that wasn't good, I ment to get up at around 10 and then head to the Royal Palace. But instead I woke up at like 12 then didn't head out till 1:30 and made it to the Reina Sofia museum at 4. In actuallity I wanted to see the Placio Real first because it closes at 4:00, but instead of taking the metro quickly there I walked. And when I walked I got lost for about half an hour. Kinda put me off schedule but I back tracked and just went to the Reina Sofia instead.

The Reina Sofia is the modern muesum in Madrid, it is famous for holding Picasso's "Guiernica". Which I might add is really amazing to see. They included all of his preliminary sketches too which adds to the enorminity of its meaning. I like the Reina Sofia much more than the National Gallery, but the Hirshhorn is still my favorite. I made sure to see every piece of work while I was in the museum and I was happy to find that the non-permanent exhibition of the 3de floor was actually all about "La Noche de Espana"... it was completely dedicated to the art of falmenco dancing. The dresses were amazing and it was interesting to see all the little movies they had playing. Even some really famous painters have used flamenco dancers as their subjects.

After than I walked to the Plaza del Sol and then I did a little shopping on La calle de Preciosas. That is a HUGE street dedicated to just shopping. El Corte Ingles is very popular here, its like a Macy's, expect there are about 6 of them on this one street. Each Corte Ingles is dedicated to something different, like one for books, one for athletic wear, one for electronics, one for men and one for women. There are so many of them!! But I just stuck to a more simple store. Sfera, where I bought a cute little shirt and a pair of really nice shorts for about 15 euros. I realized that I needed shorts, I only brought skirts and capris for the spring but Ana said it is going to be mighty hot where I am going.

That night Ana came home around 7 and Angel came home around 10. That is late for Spaniards but not unusual. They both leave for work around 8/8:30 and only have an hour for lunch, I think theyr eally do deserve the four week vacation that is given to them. People say that the Spaniards have it great because of the vacation time, but man do they work for it!

Today is my last day in Madrid, and I'm really excited to go to Sevilla. People say Sevilla is a really great place to visit and I hope that they people there are nice too.

Today I walked to another street totally dedicated to shopping, Calle Serrano (yes like the ham). I went there only to go though Zara because I know it is completely different than the ones in the US and the sales are pretty good. I again bought a few shirts for about 20 euros which was really good. There were a lot of nice shirts for only 6 euros!

Then I walked back to the house and eat lunch here. It was a little early for lunch, but I wanted to put down my bag and change my shoes. Then I left again to go try and see the Placio Real, my second try. And I got there on time, except it was closed Por Actividades Officales. There was no one allowed inside, but what gets me is that they let you walk right up and take pictures and stand next to the building even when the King is there. With all the turmiol in Spain and spanish terriorists active around this election time I was amazed at how close people can get.

Then I walked around the Catedral right next door and went inside and took pictures. I really like taking pictures inside and outside churches and this one was much more different than the National Cathedral! You'll see my pictures up soon. Then I walked around the royal gardens, I think I have a new facebook picture! ha ha!

The I took a stroll to the Plaza Mayor, where I met a guy named Nicholas from Argentina. He asked if I would like my picture taken by my camera and when I replied in funny spanish he decided I was nice enough to talk to I guess. Nicholas is on a world trip, he has already been to China and India and various other places but I couldn't recongize their names. He said he is going to travel untill he sees everything. I am jealous. But I did get a complement on my Spanish! I kept talking in spanish even though he was trying to make me speak English, I am here to practice aren't I. But it was a nice confidence boost to hear from a South American that my spanish is very good. Then I went on my way, and I walked to the Plaza del Sol again.

Finally I took the metro to the Torreador! Which is where you can totally see the Muslim influence. They are actually having a Gran Circo Americano. Basically a circus, which apparently they think is very American, but this one comes from France. Yea?

As I was walking around taking pictures a guy came up and asked for the time, I showed it to him because that would be much faster than translating it. All of a sudden he think that it is a conversation opener and starts talking to me! First thing he said was will you go with me? I was extreemly confused and I thought he ment running, but no he ment like go out with him. I just said no and started to walk away when he asked me what I was doing in Madrid. I said studying in Sevilla, and he totally got that I was an American, he stopped in front of me and said I have a large one, and pointed!!!! Oh My GOD! I was just like NO THANK YOU! And stormed away, this guy was awful!

So point to other American Girls here in Spain or anywhere else for that matter, it is way important to know what you are doing and where you are going. Try not to talk to guys when there is not very many people around, do not ask them for directions! As Ana has said

ask abuelas for directions, they are very nice and speak slowly

.

I basically went right home from that encounter because I was so freaked out! Grose! I dont know what we are doing tonight, probably cooking. But tomorrow morning I am going to the airport and flying to Sevilla! I am totally excited! Bueanas Dias!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.352s; Tpl: 0.105s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0303s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb