Getting into a routine and then off to Africa!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
October 24th 2007
Published: October 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello, hello!
These past few weeks have been so nice! I've finally gotten a chance to settle into a schedule, do some running, and to meander through Madrid.

I'll take a boring moment to run through my classes that are finally in full swing. I'm taking Mediterranean Art History, Mediterranean Politics, a Mediterranean seminar (at least 8 hours a week.. yuck), and Spanish. So far, so good. I really like my professors so all of the classes are easy to bear. Tomorrow we're going to the Prado for the second time with my art professor so she can talk to us about each painting instead of flipping through slides.

My politics class is focused completely on Islam in politics and the main question for the semester is: "Does Islam block democracy?" I can't even begin to tell you how much I'm learning in this class. I feel like such a stupid, wide-eyed American when we talk about all the different classifications in Islam. My class of about 12 people asks a lot of questions and makes a lot of comments so it was reassuring to hear my professor who graduated from Oxford and has lived in every country you can think of say, "Wow.. I'm just very surprised. I've taught in America for several years at St. Louis University and looking back they seem so..... ummm... stupid." haha I don't think we're saying anything profound but I know that if you put any kids from my college in a classroom we're going to have an opinion on the topic and we're going to ask so many questions you're going to want to kill us. It's so interesting hearing his opinion on Islam, letting Turkey into the EU, and the United States. If nothing else, it's so good to get this opportunity to hear what someone besides an upper-middle class, white American thinks.

On Friday we saw The Thirteen Roses, a Spanish movie. I HIGHLY recommend this movie. If it's out anywhere in the US, you all should see it. It's about 13 young women struggling to accept Franco's rule after the Spanish Civil War.. you can expect a good cry.

My friend, Maura, came to visit from Paris this weekend. It was fun to show off what I knew of my city. Going to el Retiro park on a Sunday afternoon is my favorite Madrid activity thus far. The flea market (el Rastro) is also high on my list.

My host family is still great. I realize that living with people who are fluent in English is probably a disadvantage when learning the language but one huge advantage is that we aren't limited at all in what we can discuss. I've been able to have in-depth conversations with them about Franco, Spanish boys, typical family customs, etc. I'm really enjoying that aspect. AND they make the most delicious salads! Yum! They call me "manzana chica" (apple girl) because I eat about 4 apples a day. I think I forgot to write about my fruit eating habits here. In Granada I ate 54 pears in 2 weeks. Here I've probably eaten about the same amount of apples. hahaha. The fruit is just SO good here you can't help but always eat it.

OK, same ole same ole here in Madrid. Next week I have midterms and then fall break is Thursday. I'll be spending it in Morocco!!!! Marrakech to be exact. I am SO excited! When I was in Turkey I got to dip into Asia and now I get to dip into Africa! I'm pumped. I'll get to spend a couple days in Madrid and then I'll take off with my school group for five days in Florence and Rome. So, that's what's in store for me in the next couple weeks.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.393s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0903s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb