That was a fast month...


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
September 30th 2007
Published: September 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I had to do that knuckle counting trick (turns out there are only thirty days in September) before confirming that indeed it IS the end of my first month here. Now I just do that about 8 more times and then I'll be back home..

I've decided I'm lucky to have all my appendages. This is for a few reasons outside the generally obvious ones. I've noticed an absurd amount of amputees in Madrid. I'd estimate that I pass by, sit by, buy from, or accidentally stare at at least 10 people a day missing an arm or a leg, or both arms or both legs. I'm wondering if there is any cultural relevance there or if it's a big city thing or if I honestly just now have realized the sheer blessing that it is to have all your arm and legs. Hmm.

I've been to the Prado three times now. I have three favorites as of right now: Goya, Velazquez, and Bosch. Goya and Velazquez had a head start upon my first arrival from studying them before, but Bosch was a discovery for me right there and then in the museum. This museum is a maze of classical art. A labyrinth even. Every time I go, I get lost in a whole new artist (geographically and mentally). This could become an addiction of mine, taking advantage of Sunday free admission. It's giving me lots of ideas (yes as a matter of fact I do paint/draw, if you could call it that), so if anybody wants to send me a christmas present, a paint set or pastels or maybe a pack of crayola colored pencils would be lovely. And then I'll draw you something and send you back YOUR christmas present (of equal or lesser sentimental value to the hypothetical paint set sent).

RASTRO AND RETIRO:

Rastro is a market on Sundays with all your basic hippie clothing/jewelery/artwork/shoes/brass horns (what?). Well, picture this: Saturday market. Got it? Okay now make it in Spain. Simple enough. Okay, NOW multiply the crowd by about 50 and the size by a number representing "Never-ending". THAT is Rastro. Laurel watched someone trying to get pickpocketed there though (unsuccessfully), so while you do all of this comparable math make sure to watch your bags.

Retiro is like the Central Park in Spain. I have no conversion factors for you here, seeing as I've never really been to central park, but I got the feeling that there is no other place like this anyway. On the outskirts of the park there's paths and trees and hedges and cute families eating their ice cream and playing frisbee. As you get to the heart of it, there's a huge lake where people are on rowboats and there's entertainers every ten feet. On one side of the lake is a huge statue surrounded by coliseum style pillars, where a huge crowd is gathered listening to two sets of bongo bands. Oh, and minnie mouse and winnie the pooh and all their friends are dressed up walking around the park too, don't ask me why. somebody's gotta scare the children.

HOME:

Laurel and I are starting to get to know our roommates. They consist of: A french guy (19), an Italian girl and guy (20), a chinese guy (28), and the Peruvian landlord and her son Pepe (14). It's quite an interesting group. We've spent some time with the french guy and the Italian girl (good spanish practice because it is the only common language among us), and the son Pepe has been a huge help in getting us acquainted with everything, namely how to work the appliances in the kitchen. Laurel and I have a feeling that the initial impression we gave was a bit of a ditzy one, having to ask how to use everything, but we've decided we're completely fine with being the joke of the house as long as it keeps everybody smiling.

In other news, I'm finally starting to appreciate siesta.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.245s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.047s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb