How do you say Artsy Fartsy in Español?


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
September 26th 2007
Published: September 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I must say, I´m enjoying Madrid thoroughly. Yesterday I walked over to the Prado museum nice and early. Love the Audioguides. I listened to almost all of the pieces they had recorded. I loved it. Felt sooo cultured viewing all the paintings and sculptures. Lots of Flemish, Spanish, Gothic art. I enjoyed a lot of the Adam and Eve paintings. So many different ways of expressing them and their plight. Highlight for sure was Bosch´s Garden of Earthly delights. You can definitely stare at it for hours. I took my time at this museum and spent a good few hours there.

I walked to the Reina Sofia, another museum, but it was actually closed on Tuesdays. Boo. From there, I was going to take the Metro across town to the Palacio Real (Royal Palace), then noticed that I left my Metro pass in my pants from last night. Bummer. But then, it was a nice day so I decided to walk all through town to the other side to the Palacio. I walked past Puerta del Sol again, went a little shopping. Side note: I seemed to have left my Old Navy black fleece sweater in Barcelona. Not that I need one now, it´s been sooo hot here in Madrid (like 80 degrees every day). But nonetheless, I need to buy a new sweater, hence the shopping. Pimkie had some cheap clothes and of course I went into H&M. Had another bocadillo for lunch in Sol and then walked through Plaza Mayor. Sooo lovely. I wanted to bask.

I finally got to Palacio Real and did another one of those Audio Guided tours. It was a lot cooler since you have to kind of look at a map and go to the different rooms yourself then turn on the audio part. It was like a treasure map. hahahaha. Anyways. The frescos on the ceilings of all the Royal rooms were so incredible. My neck hurts from staring at all of them in each room. Kings and Queens are ballers!

After a long artsy fartsy day, I walked back to the hostel to call Colleen to see when Oktoberfest was happening and if I can visit her in Germany. I also did some much needed laundry again and planned the next leg of my trip. I must say, it´s a complete surprise. I´m leaving Madrid tomorrow and I´m making one pit stop before I head into Germany. It´s crazy! I didn´t think I was going to make it to this city at all, but now I have to read up on it.

I met up with Kerri and Felicity from the UK and we actually went to meet a Spanish guy from Kerri´s "Conversation" group. Kerri is going to live here for 10 months to teach English in an elementary school. She signed up for this Conversation group where she can practice conversing in Spanish and vice versa, the other person can practice speaking English. She didn´t want to go alone so I went with her.

Ruben was really nice. Young and a computer engineer. We went over to a local bar and had some cerveza and tapas. Their Conversation Group also meets at 10pm at O´Neills in Sol. We chatted for about an hour and then went to Sol to meet up with Felicity again and have dinner. Nice dinner outside in an alley. I actually practiced a lot of Spanish at dinner and ended up talking the most to the waiter. My friends were so proud. *tear*

From there we went to O´Neills to meet up with more Conversation people. We met 3 Spaniards, Gustavo, Cesar and I forgot the other guys name, but they were really cool. They spoke Spanish a lot and were asking me all sorts of things in Spanish. I felt like the retarded slow kid at school. Uhhh, I would pause and then just start speaking as best to my knowledge in Spanish. Surprisingly, they were very helpful and didn´t laugh. They said my accent is getting better. YAY! Like 10 days in Spain and I´m getting okay at speaking and reading and stuff. It´s crazy.

Well, we stayed up until the early hours of the morning and then crashed. Fun times.

Now it´s Wed morning and I´m off to Reina Sofia (again!).

Shout outs to my peeps Joss Stone, Common, Damien and Bob Marley, Brett Dennen, Janet and Michael, Mary, Amel Larrieux, Corrinne Bailey, The Shins, Mr. Legend, etc. who help me with my swag each day as I walk the streets of Spain. I love my iPod (Thanks Rob!).


Advertisement



26th September 2007

So Jealous
Nice of you to give me a shout out though. Bob and I go way back. Spliffmaster, spliff faster... oops, mixed crowd. Be safe. Have more fun. Write more!
26th September 2007

i heart madrid
i have to comment on all your madrid entries. that's SO awesome that you're conversing in espanol. you've unearthed this hidden language talent you weren't putting to use! ;) totally cool.

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0418s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb