Almodovar Calling


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
August 21st 2007
Published: September 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

My Last Spanish SunsetMy Last Spanish SunsetMy Last Spanish Sunset

#46 outside the Palacio Royal
Madrid is awesome. I didn't plan on spending as much time here, because I figured it would be similar to LA. It is big city, but it's nothing like LA. Definitely its own animal! When they say that people go out late here they don't mention that the party doesn't start until 2 or 3 am and that includes entire families of children and grandparents. Wild.

One of the best things I did here was go to an Arabic bath. I went to one in Granada as well. Highly recommend it.

Was hoping that by the end of my trip I would have a lot of answers, but all I really have are great memories and no desire to return home (other than that I miss you). I think its going to be really difficult for me to adjust to reality after this trip, but reality is looming nonetheless. LA here I come!


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Joy TeatroJoy Teatro
Joy Teatro

A hot nightclub I didn't go to.
Atocha StationAtocha Station
Atocha Station

There is a rainforest in the Madrid Station. The architecture is really beautiful as well.
Plaza de OrientePlaza de Oriente
Plaza de Oriente

At night, the statues here are supposed to come alive outside the Palacio Royal. I didn't see any such business, but isn't the sky pretty?
Bear + Mulberry BushBear + Mulberry Bush
Bear + Mulberry Bush

This is the official symbol of Madrid. I don't have any explanation for that one. Just enjoy the statue.
El RastroEl Rastro
El Rastro

The most awesome flea market ever. EVERYONE in Madrid, tourists and locals alkie, is here every Sunday morning. I got a belt, cool antique pin that says "Venezia" on it, and some old Cuban and Spanish money for my cousin Benjamin who is a collector.
Echo Park, SpainEcho Park, Spain
Echo Park, Spain

Really its El Retiro Park, and much nicer than Echo Park. It did remind me of postcards I've seen of Echo Park from the 30's and 40's- people in paddleboats, oleanders, lotus blossoms-minus the mausoleum in the background.
El Retiro ParkEl Retiro Park
El Retiro Park

Where's Spidey?
Real Madrid Soccer FieldReal Madrid Soccer Field
Real Madrid Soccer Field

I went on game day and the streets were filled with fans. The TGI Fridays next door was a big hot spot!
The Cat's HostelThe Cat's Hostel
The Cat's Hostel

$18 a night- this was the best hostel of the trip. Great location. Clean everything. Sheets provided. Beautiful building.
Especially for Adam MeansEspecially for Adam Means
Especially for Adam Means

This is one of world's only statues in honor of the devil himself. It is called "Caido Angel" which translates to "Fallen Angel". It is located on the southern end of El Retiro Parque.
Pedro Almodovar?Pedro Almodovar?
Pedro Almodovar?

On my last night in Madrid, I walked past this film shoot. They said it was the man himself (inside the car, but I don't see anything on IMDB. Who knows? He was a large man, that's all I can say for sure.


Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0221s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb