Here´s the scoop.


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
July 3rd 2007
Published: July 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

This is the first time I´ve had any sort of length of time on the computer. Please forgive me.
2 more things.
1. I haven´t been able to hook up my computer to the internet yet, so no pictures
2. I have no idea where the apostophe on this keyboard is, so I´m using the accent mark. I think you can get over it.

Hokay sooooo....
I almost missed my flight in London. My flight from Dallas was delayed, and then I went to the wrong terminal, and then when I was in line to go through security, they told me I could only carry one bag, and that my purse counted as a back. So I had to get out of the line and check my carry-on bag, get back in line. I got through security with 3 minutes before the gate closed. So I ran in the terminal, and started looking for signs for Gate 107. Well, I was standing in front of Gate 1. So I sprinted the length of the entire terminal and got there just in time....they closed the gate behind me.

When I got on the plane, and after composing myself a bit, I looked around and half to three fourths of the plane was filled with really well dressed, really good looking men. One of which happened to be sitting right next to me. So we were talking, and he told me that he was going to Madrid for EuroPride. EuroPride is quite possibly the largest gay parade in the world. Over 2 million people crammed into the streets of central Madrid. But it made the contents of the plane make much more sense.

I got to my house after kind of an ordeal at the airport with baggage and my ride. But I took a taxi and made it to my house with all of my stuff and all my money, less the cab fare.

The next day, Saturday, we went to Aranhuez, a Spanish palace, and Chinchon, a traditional Spanish village. It was pretty interesting, the palace had beautiful wall carvings and amazing gardens. But Chinchon was under construction, so they said it wasn´t nearly as pretty as it usually is. That night, me and my housemate met Heather, her mom, and their housemate at La Plaza Mayor to walk around town a bit. Their housemate, Deirdra, is fluent in Spanish and has been to Madrid lots, so she knew everything and was pretty much our personal tour guide, so that was nice. The city was so full of people, it was awesome. And then Heather´s camera got stolen by some stupid drunk girl, so that kind of put a damper on the mood. We went home shortly after that.

Sunday, Heather, her mom, and I went to El Museo Del Prado and saw Goya´s, Rembrant´s, Rafael´s, and lots more. It was so amazing, seriously. And it´s free on Sunday´s so that was nice. I ate lunch with them, and then we went to La Plaza de Torros...The Bull Fights.
They were bloody and not fun, but it´s one of those things that you just have to do when you´re in Spain, so we did. I took pictures and even a Video that I´ll put on here and Facebook. But you can´t see the blood gushing out of the bull´s neck, sorry about that.

Monday was the first day of class. It was ok, there are only four people in my class so it´s kind of akward, but I think it will get better as the week goes on. It´s a little easy, they´re going over grammar that I already know. But whatever.

Olivia Vance left early because she was homesick, so Mrs. Winburn asked if I would move into the house with Brooke, Lindsey, and Jennifer. I said I didn´t mind, so I packed all my stuff and moved again. The new lady is an excellent cook, only she talks really fast and slurs her words so everyone has problems understanding her. But she´s nice, and I like being with people I know.

Today after class, we went to the zoo and the aquarium. That was fun. But it wore me out. Tomorrow, we´re going to the Mueso de Archiologo. I don´t think I spelled that correctly.

What else....
I think I know what culture shock is now. This schedule is really hard to get used to. Almost everything closes from about 3-5 para la siesta, and lunch doesn´t happen till 2, and sometimes never because you want to go do things instead of waste time eating. I´ve walked so so so much, but I adore subway systems and buses.

My Spanish has improved exponentially in the past 4 days. I didn´t really have any other choice. I´m doing pretty well, I just speak slowly, so sometimes people don´t want to wait on me to finish. But our lady´s niece´s husband was doing work on the house this evening, and he sat down with me Brooke and Lindsey and made us talk to him about stuff. And he talks slower, when asked, unlike the lady of the house.

She talks sooooo much, last night she kept me up for an hour after I went to ask her where the outlet in my room was. She rearranged my desk, and then when I came back, she had moved my suitcases and shoes around. Í guess I´m just not used to having my stuff messed with without permission. But oh well, I´ll live.

I think that´s all so far. This is definitely a reader´s digest version, but I doubt you´d want me to go into ridiculous detail. I´m going to try and buy a jumpdrive so I can put pictures on here. I´m at an interenet cafe down the road that only charges 1 euro an hour. It´s my saviour.

Buenas noches mis corazones

Advertisement



5th July 2007

bah! i figured i'd comment on here. but i'm writing you on facebook. let's see how many different ways we can communicate, eh?
5th July 2007

OMG How fun is this
Jordan, living vicariously through you has taken me to see Rembrant's painting and a Bull fight, wow I can't wait to see more!! Thanks for sharing I'm loving this so far!! Karla

Tot: 0.189s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1297s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb