Day 34 Madrid


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
May 21st 2018
Published: May 21st 2018
Edit Blog Post

I am travelling with the best of companions. Yes, Jane. We have travelled together in many countries over many, many years (with many more to go) and even though I say it myself, our teamwork is top-of-the-wozzer. Today has been a perfect example of that with regards to organisation, finding our way, meeting people, taking risks, conversation, laughs and tenderness. As this is my diary, I’m allowed to say it!

Madrid is one of Europe’s great cultural capitals and we know that we will not be able to see or experience everything Madrid. We walked for nearly 6 hours straight today and in that time we saw what a diverse and vibrant city it is. It is packed with things to do for all ages. It diverse range of attractions such as the leading art museums and galleries to small house museums to the many century old restaurants to its parks such as El Retiro and Casa de Campo and magnificent Botanical Gardens just draw you in.

We explored the small laneways with their ever present cafes and locals sipping coffee and watching the world go by. We joined them a few times. The photos endeavour to capture the different architecture, the people, the way of city life and some of the main sights.

By good fortune, I came across 3 musicians arguing. I went to take a photo (I asked them to continue arguing), when one of them broke away from the group and approached me … with guitar in hand … and said he was a professional and only played for profit. I took him aside, had a brief chat and a laugh, patted him on the back and he volunteered to play for me. He happened to be Nicolas Reyes of the Gipsy Kings. Check out his website/you tube. All members of the original group were born in France however were brought up in the Spanish culture and the way of flamenco and salsa. He has played for and “accompianied” the famous Meryl S. I videoed him playing, gave him a few Euro and off he went to record.

By way of conclusion, Today I happened to have the most looked at legs in Madrid. Individuals even came up to ask what was on my lower legs. Enough said.


Additional photos below
Photos: 46, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0173s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb