Cal Romá


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Tarragona
November 26th 2009
Published: November 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well, it turns out I do have internet on this farm. But there is a password and I have this feeling only the parents get to know, so I haven't asked for it yet. And I'm pushing my siesta a little bit, so this will be relatively short (although I've noticed that every time I say that the entry just get's extra long).

I am in a town of about a hundred people, called Les Piles. This is a family farm. The dad is one of a long line of farmers and the land is passed down through generations, which is pretty cool. The mom is a nurse in a hospital in a neighboring town, and there are three kids (ages 10, 8, and 6). No other WWOOFers, which is too bad, but I have a playhouse-sized cabin all to myself in their backyard, which is pretty cute. It has an electric heater, which is quite the luxury for me. And they have a normal bathroom and a shower. Wow!
Nuts. That about sums up the week I've spent here. Of course, I've done some watering and weeding, but the past couple days my schedule has been simple: four hours gathering walnuts in the morning, 2 or 3 hours cracking almonds in the evening. But I'm almost done with the walnuts and this afternoon I get to pull the watering tubes out of the garden and water the herbs again. But I've found I don't really mind what kind of work I'm doing. I've gotten very good at entertaining myself while I work with stories, songs, random wandering thoughts, and just plain zoning out. So life is pretty chill here. The kids want to play with me 24/7, so getting some down time alone has been my newest hobby. Haha. That and making art from nutshells. I've been making little boxes and lockets, and hanging them on the braidwork that Miriam (from my last farm) taught me. And there are some interesting books in the little cabin left by other WWOOFers.
The language situation is a little interesting. I didn't know that Catalán (the regional language - the people are very proud of it and the culture is very strong here) had so much in common with Italian. I find that I can understand quite a bit sometimes.
So that's actually about it. Little stories here and there but nothing really worth mentioning. I helped Pol (the oldest kid) with his English homework last night. I'll be leaving here in about a week and a half to go visit Pilar and Nisio up north. I can't wait!

Advertisement



5th December 2009

Hello From Michigan
Hi Madeline, Wow, off for a year in Europe! What a great experience. Have fun and learn a lot. You are very blessed and I pray God will continue to bless you you for the remainder of your trip. I can't wait to here what Israel is like. Love, Uncle Greg

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 11; qc: 57; dbt: 0.057s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb