Episode 5: Sitges, Spain


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Sitges
July 4th 2011
Published: July 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Once again, sorry I didn't post yesterday. The reason was that, well, there was not much to post about. I just hung out all day and later went down to the beach to do some body surfing.

Today was more interesting. It was my first day of the spanish immersion camp my mom had set up for me. It was a fun 'beach activity camp'. Most of the kids in it were Spanish and the instruction was all in Spanish. I got to practice my spanish with other kids and have fun on the beach. Here are a few of the things I did at this camp.

First we played a 'name game' to get to know each other's names. We used this colorful parachute in the game, but I don't need to get into the details of it. If you are a student in my class reading this you will know about the parachute thing from P.E.

We then proceeded to go down to the beach. We waded into the water, played soccer (football, as they call it here), and did relay races. Around 12:30, we went back to the building where the camp started and had lunch.

After lunch, it was time to set sail. The camp was split up into groups of five students and 1 'teacher'. Each group got in a different boat. There were 2 sailboats and two inflatable motorboats (I stayed on one of the sailboats the whole time). Then all the boats took off into the ocean. Out in the middle of the ocean, one of the inflatable boats deliberately collided with our sailboat and the people from the sailboat switched places with the people on the inflatable boat (I stayed on the sailboat, actually). There were also water fights where people would throw a gallon of ocean water from one boat to another. All in all, it was very fun, and I came home very tired.

Advertisement



5th July 2011

happy birthday in Spain!!
Dear Skye, I am in Italy while you are in Spain and I rarely get to an Internet cafe (am staying on a mountaintop with no access) but I LOVE reading your posts and I am thinking of you as you celebrate your eleventh birthday in such a beautiful and interesting place!! Hasta luego!
6th July 2011

Nope
Hi Kathleen! You don't need to be tall enough to do it. You just come to the plaza and get in the foam. I definitely saw grandmas with babies there.

Tot: 0.199s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0292s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb