Spain - Girona


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Girona
June 5th 2009
Published: June 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Day 53 Easter Monday


I finally arrived in Girona before 9am and stopped for a morning snack I now had 14hrs to kill before my bus would leave for the airport. My first port of call was to find a tourist info office and hopefully a placce to leave my bag. I managed to do both and by 10am I was backpack free!
With my map in hand I went out to explore the old city of Girona. I walked through the old winding streets of the ‘Call’ or Jewish Quarter visiting along the way the Jewish and Histroy Museums, the old Roman Baths, the Cathedral where I sat for lunch and the Jardins de la Francesa. Afterwards I sat in the main city park to kill some time writing postcards before heading back through Point de San Feliu then up onto the city walls. The walls provide fantastic views of both the old and new cities of Girona. At their end I found myself dozing in a local park and updating my journal. I then headed off to find myself some dinner before picking up my bag and heading back to the bus station to catch the airport shuttle to you guessed it the airport.
I had finally killed 14hrs and at 11pm the bus arrived for the airport it was then that all shit hit the fan. My bus for the airport arrived and after everyone had taken their bags off the bus I put my into the luggage compartment and was motioned on by the bus driver. So thinking that everything was grand and my bag safely locked away I hoped on. There I was sitting in the bus and another bus pulled up next to ours to talk to our driver next thing I know is our driver is off the bus and the other bus pulls away to my view of two guys running off with a bag that looks very like mine. So I jump off the bus to see if my bag is still there or not and of course the luggage part is closed I look for our driver and get him to open it and my bag is gone. I look after the guys to see them running off down a dark ally and think better of chasing them, as there is two of them one of me and plus I had my passport, money and credit cards on me which was a lot more valuable then anything in my bag. Hence I figure if they caught me they would just take that as well. I spoke to the driver and it turned out the other bus had stopped to say that my bag was lying outside the bus why the driver didn't ask if it belonged to someone on the bus before he left to check it out I don't know because then I might still have my bag! Not impressed!!!
Instead of heading to the airport I went straight to the police station who weren’t any help at all. They couldn’t have gave a damn about it!! Plus they weren’t interested in helping someone who could speak Spanish. I then drag myself back to the bus station looking along the way to see is they had dumped my bag in a nearby parking lot. No such luck! When I hopped on the bus the bus driver told me he had informed the people at the airport and that I should speak to the police there as they could speak a little English. These guys turned out to be so much more helpful and even allowed me to use their phone to call my insurance ect. By this time it was 3am I had 3 and half hours to wait for my plane to Malta and extremely uncomfortable benches to lie on. Not cool!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.267s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0414s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb