very late - a couple of weeks worth of adventures


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Girona » Girona
April 30th 2011
Published: April 30th 2011
Edit Blog Post

So headed up to Costa Brava for the weekend- was a 1 and a half hour drive – I taught the girls how to play pea knuckle wars- bad move. Felt like 1000 games later we arrived yay! Pals is a beautiful old historical town- the beach house was in a beautiful complex- typical Spanish houses all white and stone and concrete- it then had a really nice big pool to share with the other 10 houses in that part and another pool on the other side for the other 10. We decided to head to beach and took a picnic lunch- but was so windy and even cold! Felt very strange wearing jeans and jersey at the beach- although quite Spanish ☺ It is starting to get really hot so normally walking around Barcelona in shorts and t shirt while all the locals are still wearing jackets and scarfs- hmm how am I to deal with summer?

We then headed for a walk to the top of a hill where there was old castle walls- absolutely beautiful views – wish I could imagine or know what the castle used to look like. Santi and Roser (my host family) told me all about the history and its so interesting I want to know more! We then went to the town of pals- which was so beautiful a small seaside town and walked around there- people everywhere eating paella and drinking sangria- my favorite town I have visited yet! Then had the most amazing ice cream- beats out ben and jerry’s cookie dough- which is not an easy feat! The next day we headed to the old historic town of pals- where people still live and its very exclusive and expensive. I loved it here and fell in love with an old house looked like a castle complete with fountains and a chapel! I couldn’t take a photo though- I was nosing through the fence when the owners came out! ☺ We also went to a archaeological site where a town of the Iberic people first lived- I think…Was so interesting- I’m starting to realize this is the norm here!

We then had a picnic dinner and headed home as the girls + me had school the next day. Monday morning- was my first hard morning with Nuria (7) who threw a massive tantrum – crying/ shouting and silent treatment over something so insignificant that I cant remember. Not too experienced in dealing with this haha so mum just used some of your methods☺

Despite the bad start day was great had first day of language school – a bit gutted as everyone is quite a bit older than me- I think the youngest is 24. But there’s people from absolutely everywhere; china, japan, Thailand, Austria, Germany, Russia, Afghanistan, brazil- yay so have contacts! Mum we may have a couple of couch surfers ☺

We spent the class just talking about ourselves and our countries- after I went to the gym (never thought I would ever become a member of a gym!) but they have classes/weights/treadmill/pool/sauna etc and so cheap! So after class did a session of yoga- which was really cool however not that relaxing as I couldn’t understand the instructions of the teacher so while everyone else had their eyes closed for the majority of the class- I was constantly looking over to see what to do ☺ Afterwards went into the women’s changing rooms for first time- maybe should have checked out first haha. They were European style- meaning communal showers plus lots of people walking and socializing in the nude- plus sauna did not include togs or even towels! Bit of a shock for a prudish kiwi! Oh well when I Spain..

Absolutely loving language school and the gym as well however my body is complaining today! The other au pair was sick so didn’t come to volley practice. This was so good cause it gave me the chance to get to know the other girls better- awesome chance to practice my Spanish! They are all awesome we spent about 1 hour talking and half an hour playing- definitely my type of team! We have a volley tournament this weekend- which should be funny! We have disgusting uniform bright yellow shiny basketball shorts and singlets! Mmm

Best day so far- since I have been here I have loved it all but really struggled communicating in Spanish but I think I am getting the hang of it! Yay! Caught the train to Barcelona in the morning and a girl from volley was there so sat together and spoke in Spanish for the hour on train- was so cool not only to get to know a Spanish person my age but also because we had a pretty good conversation- a couple of repeats and confusions here and there but a good effort. Also I realized that Spanish people are very open if you start the conversation or open up so had cool conversation with lady on the metro, then had a long conversation with a granddad at the park about politics and history- I didn’t contribute much but I understood the majority- then to finish off chatted comfortably in Spanish with my family over dinner. Yay need to have days like this every day!

Missed my aqua aerobics class haha so went for a walk along the water ended up at Barceloneta- I think tiny lil part of Barcelona where everyone goes to beach. Its only spring here and the beaches were packed with mainly tourists in their bikinis sunbathing and a few Spanish in jeans and jerseys ☺ Already there is so many tourists here – summer will be crazy- I will avoid las rambas as much as I can!

Plan for weekend- town café (bar ) Friday night/ beach Saturday Barcelona night- then volley tournament Sunday- Yes I will take photos!




Tonight went to the town bar and had a traditional Spanish drink beer with lemon.. hmm would not recommend. Nice night getting to know some of the locals – its so surprising how many people are in Sant Llorens- you don’t see anyone during the week but on the weekend at the bar they all appear! Lots of young people which is great.

Had early night then headed to Sitges on Saturday. This is a nice beach 30 minutes out of Barcelona, its where all the Spanish people go as Barceloneta (beach in Barcelona) is packed full of tourists and there’s no space anywhere. It is a beautiful town as you walk along the beach there’s amazing sandcastles that people make as a way to busk- a lot better than the people on las rambas! Sunbathed and I braved the Mediterranean sea which was so cold! I was the only person in the water and couldn’t put my head under I thought I would freeze!
On Sunday had our volleyball tournament, this was my first tournament I have been in my whole life ☺ and for the first game I didn’t do so well under pressure. Was really awesome though got into it in the second game and there were so many people there cheering Sant Llorens on. Even my family here came to watch- and took photos and cheered for us. So cute and my girls came over whenever we had a break and wanted me to teach them volley! Feel like part of the family!

Rest of week started to get into really interesting stuff at Spanish school and I am really enjoying it- love my routine now and go to yoga mon wed fri- don’t think it classifies as exercise but its so relaxing!

The new au pair from England arrived today she seems lovely and so excited to have someone new- I took her into Barcelona for the day and went exploring – got a little bit lost along the way but was great to show her all the things the others showed me.

Went to the town bar again tonight- had awesome time could finally have a proper conversation (my Spanish has improved so much) and got to know lots of the people from town- we were going to head to the club in the town over but had such a good time before we knew it – it was 3am and too late! Think we will be going to the bar most weekends as it’s the only time you see any young people around here!

Saturday- Mia and I went into my favorite park in Barcelona just for a picnic and there was a huge festival and markets on. There were food stalls selling food from all over the world- we didn’t need lunch after all the tastings! The majority of the stalls were organic and fair trade and there were hippies everywhere. All around the park there was different musicians and shows displaying music and dance from all over the world. All in all good timing! That night there was a barca vs Madrid game so we decided to go into Barcelona for the night. Every bar was packed full to watch the game so somehow we ended up in this really eclectic part of Barcelona and found seats in a reggae bar to watch the game. The game was a disappointment- it was a draw- but the atmosphere was awesome- really want to go see a live game before I leave.
Then we met up with friends in plaza espana and went to a ‘spanish’ nightclub which was recommended to us by the girls in our town, as where we usually go is the touristy places along the beach. The nightclub was huge and had really good music- one thing I immediately noticed was how tall I was- not a feeling I have ever had in New Zealand- wearing high heels I was taller than the majority of the guys in the club- strange feeling. I think next time I will wear flats! Had an awesome night here and then headed home at 6am. (typical Spanish time ☺)

This week is Easter holidays so I had the week off and planned a road trip to Girona (supposedly the Spanish venice) and up around Costa Brava. It was going to be me and 3 friends from language school however 2 ended up not being able to make it so me and a girl from brazil just decided to go alone. But that morning she range to say she was really sick and couldn’t make it- considered not going but this would be my only week off during my time here and have to make most of it. So hopped in my car and headed towards the Spanish motorways. I was quite unprepared- I thought that driving to the train station ( a 5 minute drive through country) had prepared me enough for this and driving on the other side of the road.. hmm I was a bit disillusioned. Glad I was the only one in the car and the whole time stayed in the slow lane with the trucks- the speed limit on the high was is 110 and this is 5 lanes of traffic, people not using their indicators and crazy Spanish drivers. Needless to say was so relieved when I arrived and parked the car at a park close to town and walked in to try and find some accommodation for the next couple of days.
I found a hostel which was cheap and really nice in the center of Girona so got myself settled there. Then went wandering around the town, its so old and beautiful especially the church and I attended a special service for semana santa here which was amazing! Its hard to see these amazing churches and attend services like that and not be converted to Catholicism. I headed back to my hostel and then decided to find some dinner. As I was walking out the door a American guy asked if he could join me- was so happy at the prospect of not having to eat alone. Because we had to wait for Spanish dinner time (at least 9pm) we went for a walk around the city and found a walk around the old castle walls all over the town with the most amazing view. We then headed to a catalan restaurant for typical catalan food but they didn’t have the menu in Spanish or English so we ended up guessing. Had the most amazing chicken and pear pizza and shared a bottle of wine. The guy was awesome and we got on instantly its strange when your travelling how quickly you make friends with others and are a lot more open. It has made me feel completely fine about travelling alone in the summer and now if I want to do something I’m not going to miss out if others don’t want to, because you meet other amazing people doing the same thing as you from all over the world. Good contacts for travel.
The American guy mentioned he was going to hire a bike and bike up to Costa Brava and around the peninsula- this is what I wanted to do minus the bike so I offered a ride and the next morning we planned what to see and do for the day.
Picked up another American who was also keen for a road trip and headed off. I let Tim (American guy) drive as I felt he would definitely be a lot safer than me. So glad I did as a lot of the towns we visited had lots of dead ends/no parking and one way streets.

Saw lots of beautiful cathedrals and castles and also nice beaches. Stopped at a beautiful seaside town called Cadaques – it was very Spanish the white houses with the terrocota roofs and blue windows and tiny winding streets had lunch here then headed to a place close to port de la selva. This was an amazing drive we could see the coast and all the towns dotted along it. We arrived to a massive castle which was used as a monastery and we climbed up the mountain to see some castle ruins- where the view was amazing we could see the whole peninsula. This was my favorite part of the day. Headed back to the hostel late afternoon and made dinner and settled in to watch the game- yet another disappointment. Madrid dominated the whole game and ended up winning.

Next morning I made my way home and took two other Americans back to Barcelona- so nice to have company-was so exhausted for the rest of day slept and watched a movie- I don’t know how I am going to do this for 3 months!

Tomorrow Alice arrives after a week in Nice so excited to see her and show her around. When I asked my family if they knew any good hostels in Barcelona they said no she will stay with us- this is your home ☺ Think I got the most lovely family ever! So will pick her up from the airport tomorrow and we will be hard core tourists for the week.



Additional photos below
Photos: 187, Displayed: 32


Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0303s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb