Barcelona!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona » Barcelona
June 2nd 2013
Published: June 19th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Barcelona was an amazing city. It was pretty cheap (compared to the rest of Europe), had great food, amazing architecture, and the night life was fantastic.

Luckily we arrived on a Saturday night, so we got to experience the prime night life of Barcelona. We got to the city and went to Antonio Gaudi’s building Sangria Familia (I can’t remember the exact spelling off the top of my head) Gaudi is my favorite architect so it was cool to see his work personally. Despite this, I was not a fan of the building. It was a little too out there and it did not look like it fit together nicely.

After seeing the church, we went and got diner (piyaya, delicious!) We then headed to La Ramba. Its a strip that is filled with restaurants, bars and clubs. It was still a little early for the clubs so we walked up and down the strip to check everything out. The vendors were working it hard core, and boy did they have everything. I got approached multiple times to be asked if I wanted weed, cocaine, or MDMA. Even if I were into trying hard drugs, I don’t think buying off a sketchy street vendor in Barcelona would be the wisest decision. A lot were selling cans of beer for one euro. That was perfect to have to walk around with before going and spending 10 euros for one beer at one of the clubs or bars. We eventually made it into one of the clubs and it was a great night. We ended up dancing until 4:30 AM.

Being out that late did not stop me from getting up early and sight seeing. There was a cable car that took you up to a look out castle overlooking the city so me and a few other people went up there.



After that we got Tapas. Its a traditional food dish in Spain. A tapa is a little appatizer sample so you can get a couple different dishes and try them out. Each of us got 3 tapas, all different and we were able to share everything. It made lunch really fun!



unfortunately all of this running on adrenaline was starting to catch up with me, so around 2 in the afternoon i decided to tag out and come back to the hotel for a nap. If the weather was warmer I would have just slept on the beach. The weather has by far been the biggest disappointment on this trip! I packed so many shorts and dresses and I only got to wear them 3 times, so i’m stuck re-wearing the same 3 articles of warm clothing that I brought.

I wasn’t planning on going out again that night, but my friends that I met in London were in Barcelona too, so I of course HAD to see them. It was so good to see them. We went out to the clubs that lined the beach. It was fun to take a break from dancing and stroll up and down the beach. I didn’t want to take the metro back by myself or pay for a cab so I ended up staying in their hostel with them.



The third day in Barcelona I was running out of things to do so I decided to quest and find a post office to mail my postcards. Well I ended up getting horribly lost and couldn’t find it. After walking around for a while I stumbled across a metro stop, so I just got on the metro and went back to the hotel.

A couple of the girls and I just planned on having a few drinks and dinner at the bar across the street from the hotel for our last night…. but of course nights never go how you plan them. we ended up getting the last metro train back to La Rumba. Even though it was a Monday night the place was still poppin’. Yet another night out until 5 AM. I’ll sleep when I’m dead, right? Or on the ride to Switzerland the next day…

Advertisement



Tot: 0.155s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0892s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb