Favorite Places To Go In Sarria


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona » Barcelona
October 8th 2011
Published: November 28th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Bar Tomas: Bar Tomas is a famous patatas bravas bar in Sarria. Their patatas bravas are so good that the Wall Street Journal wrote an article about their excellence. Their bravas are good because of their secret sauce. Some restaurants in Barcelona claim they have better patatas bravas but my alleigance is with Bar Tomas.

Callefour: Callefour is the only supermarket in my neighborhood that sells peanut butter. I would eat peanut butter and jelly sandwhiches every day to save money for my weekend trips.

Plaza Artos: Plaza Artos is the plaza in front of my homestay. This place was lively during Sarria´s week-long festival. Most of the time it is pretty quiet, except for in the evenings when the locals go to the bars in Plaza Artos.

Jardins de la Villa Amelia: This park was two or three blocks from my house in Sarria. When I first arrived here my host dad showed me this park because he enjoyed spending time there. I initially went here to run laps in the park, however this became extremely boring very quickly and I eventually started running down Diagonal. I like this park because there were always a lot of families gathered there and it was a good place to do homework outside.

Tabacs: Tabacs was a small shop near my house that I would buy minutes for my cellphone and stamps for postcards for my friends and family back home. The shop was owned by a father and operated by his son, Alex. Alex was really cool because he spoke English and very nice to Christian and me. We learned about the Spanish government´s control over the cigarette industry from him. He told us that Tabacs was the only store in Spain that was allowed to sell cigarettes. I never bought or smoked cigarettes but it was interesting to learn about the cigarette industry.

Calle Major de Sarria: This is the biggest street in Sarria. Bar Tomas and Parc Joan Reventos are on this street.

Reial Monestir Santa Isabel: This was the church that my host parents and I attended on Sunday nights. The masses were in Spanish, as opposed to Catalan, so I was able to understand some parts of the mass. I really enjoyed the music at this church. This church was affiliated with an adjacent high school so there were tons of teenagers at this mass on Sunday nights. It was almost like attending a mass at the Mission Church at Santa Clara because both were at night, had great music, and many young people in the audience.






Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0361s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb