A new hidden treasure


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León » Segovia
May 20th 2008
Published: May 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

LA GRANJA DE SAN ILDEFONSO

For years I have been reading about the beautiful palaces on the outskirts of the highly popular tourist destination of Segovia. I have been to Segovia, oh, about 700 times, but had never visited La Granja de San Ildefonso.

Well, my friend, coworker & private English class students, Aurora, invited me to go with her (in her car...it's been so long that I've travelled in a car that i got car sick!!!). Well, I didn't vomit,but I almost did!

We had the day off (yes, another vacation day) last Tuesday to celebrate something in valladolid, es decir, I really don't know why we had off. Doesn't matter, we took advantage.

It was one of the best days here that I've had so far! It looked like it was going to rain, but we braved the weather & when we arrived in Segovia, it was sunny, warm & perfect!

La Granja is a summer 'palace for the Kings of Spain, built about 200years ago, so it's relatively new. We didn't even have time to go in the Palace (which I'm told is more beautiful than the palace at Versaille!) I do want to go back sometime & catch a glimpse of the inside.

It didn't even matter that we didn't go in the Palace, because we spent a full 2 hours outside in the gardens of the palace. it was breathtaking. First of all, since Valladolid was the only city that had off on Tuesday, everyone else was at work & no one was travelling, so, apart from 1 school group, we almost literally had the entire place to ourselves. So peaceful, & quite a change from the bustling city of Valladolid.

The fountains are spectacular & we spent some time going through the garden maze!!! THe trees, animals & fountains were so beautiful, I just took it all in. Plus, it was free to get in!

I haven't developed my pics just yet, but once I do I'll post them for you all to see.

Afterwards, we had worked up an appetite & decided to go for lunch in the village. We were nervous about the place we selected, because we were the only ones there & the help seemed rather incompetent. But, we didn't know our way around, nor did we have the desire to look for another place. Again, we had luck, & ate a wonderful meal of croquetas & eggs with pisto (vegetable sauce thingy) & bread, etc. It was wonderful.

Turned out to be the perfect day.

Right before I fell asleep on the way home, we passed the backside of the castle in Segovia & it was a view of the castle I've never seen before. It was so beautiful.

You will all have to meet Aurora when she comes to the US! She's coming to travel & practice her English& she'll be staying with me & my family From July 22nd-around Aug 5th! I'll keep you posted on the summer events.

Miss you all & will see you soon.

My flight back to the US is Monday June 16th.

Besos



Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 26; dbt: 0.04s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb