Back in Central Spain


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León » Segovia
October 26th 2007
Published: October 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Looks like I’m due for an update. Things have been pretty, well, relaxed as usual. It was nice to come back to my casita here in Segovia after a whirlwind trip to Greece. In Segovia I’ve just been going to school, and talking, talking, talking as much as I can. I’ve met a lot of Spaniards with whom I spend a lot of time chatting in cafés and going out to the bars. Of course I spend time with Iñigo when he comes here or I go to Madrid. At this point I feel like the language is really clicking: I’m using more complex structures, picking up vocabulary, and thinking in Spanish rather than translating.

Last weekend I went to La Granja with my program. It’s a little town not far from Segovia that is renowned for its crystal savoir faire and the stunning crystal factory/museum. The town also has a beautiful palace surrounded by gorgeous gardens. The palace houses some spectacular statues, paintings, and tapestries, but the real treasure is the surrounding area of immaculate gardens, pools, fountains, and sculptures. It felt so good to just meander outdoors in the crisp fall air.

After that, I made a trip to Madrid to visit my uncle Scott and my cousin Brandon, who is studying this semester in Toledo. We met up for breakfast at the Plaza Mayor, where we hugged, took pictures, and filled each other in on our lives. After that we watched a show of music and traditional dances from various parts of Spain, and then went on a little tour of the city. Of course we had to make a pass through El Parque del Retiro (pretty much the Central Park of Madrid) where we listened to a Brazilian jazz band, while we watched the little rowboats on the pond. By that time we were starving so we went on a search for a good place for lunch. It was a pretty busy Sunday afternoon, and in Spain you’ve got to be quick to snatch up an open table on an outdoor terrace. We finally found one and had a lovely lunch of white asparagus wrapped in procciutto, caviar, salmon, tuna, a platter of about 10 different cheeses, and wine.

Brandon had to head back to Toledo a little early to study for his mid-terms, so Uncle Scott and I hung out around La Plaza del Sol. We went to another café and chatted over a bottle of Vino del Sol and Iñigo joined us after work. It was fun to have a real family member of mine meet my boyfriend, and they seemed to get along great! Iñigo speaks English fluently, so Uncle Scott could communicate with him, too. In fact, for a bit at the beginning, I could hardly get a word in! By the way dad, Uncle Scott says he approves 😊 All in all, a great day and wonderful night.

This past Thursday marked the local celebration of San Frutos, patron saint of Segovia. There was a band playing traditional folk music, and the entire city gathers in the plaza to watch as the page in the book in front of the cathedral “magically” turns all by itself. After that everyone piles into a long line to receive the soup of San Frutos, which is a garlic soup with chorizo and bread. After that I listened to a great jazz band and danced around the plaza with my host mom.

Today was pretty relaxed. I just took my mid-term oral exam, which went really well, I think. And Iñigo’s on his way to pick me up to go to Madrid for the weekend!

Besos!



Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



27th October 2007

What a Weekend!
Thanks, Kendra, for a delightful series of pictures and text. My favourite nephew Scott (I'm his Dad's brother) told me in an email from Beijing about the weekend and sent me your blog address, so I signed on and felt like I was at a family reunion! What a time both you and Brandon must be having...certainly a year you'll carry with you for the rest of your life. My single experience in Spain was a lovely trip to visit friends in Mallorca in 1987, but I loved it then, even with nearly non-existant Spanish! Have a GRAND year of it, and say hi to Brandon from "Uncle PJ" when next you see him. Peace...J.A.

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0458s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb