Adios Salamanca


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León » Salamanca
December 14th 2008
Published: December 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
A Little CrazyA Little CrazyA Little Crazy

They gave us these orange wigs for free to go to the fiesta at the Plaza - I think its a good look for me, don't you?

Second to the last week


What a night in Salamanca! December 11 was the “Nochevieja Universitaria” which is the student New Year’s Eve party since everyone will be leaving soon to celebrate the holidays with their families. After my evening class, I met Sara and Andrea for tapas and sidra in the Plaza. We received the crazy orange wigs for free then went out to buy our “gominolas” for the midnight bells. The New Year’s Eve tradition in Spain is to eat one grape with every of the 12 dongs of the bells of midnight. If you don’t get them all in, its bad luck for the coming year. University tradition is to eat 12 “gominolas” (gummy candies - mine were spice drops!) with the bells.
We rushed back to the Plaza Mayor to get a good spot since it was going to be packed with students from all over Spain. I heard on the news that there were 35,000 people there - just for this fiesta!
I ate my gominolas (although not very well since I couldn’t chew them fast enough - hope that’s not bad luck!) and then everyone sang the New Year’s Eve song and Feliz Navidad.

Last Week


I had a leisurely morning on Monday, just doing some last minute studying when Aurea came in and told me that it was snowing! It had snowed once before really lightly so I didn’t care too much when she told me this time. But when I put on my coat to walk (30 minutes) to the API office, I saw that it really was snowing! There was snow on the cars, snow on the ground, the trees, the buildings - everywhere! I enjoyed my walk to API (although maybe a little cold even with the pea coat) and back home. Aurea told me not to bother going to class, in which I had a final that day, because surely the classes would be canceled. I went anyway to get a chance to walk in the snow some more - and a good thing too, since we definitely did have class.
However, all the buses, taxis and highways did close that day.
On the Snow Day, they even started putting up the Christmas tree in the middle of the Plaza Mayor - so it’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas here!

I made a pumpkin pie for Aurea, Paco, Jesus, Lauren and I the other day and it was delicious! Can’t wait to have some more at Christmas (hint hint…) We gave her our gifts and she gave us each a turron (Christmas sweet) to bring home!

Last Day


Finals are over, bought my train ticket to Madrid, I’ve just performed a miracle by packing allllllllll of my stuff in the suitcase, and I’ll be home tomorrow!

See you all soon!




Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Is that snow?Is that snow?
Is that snow?

This is the Puerta de Zamora which I walk by everyday (many times a day) to get to class/home.
Its beginning to look a lot like Chrismtas...Its beginning to look a lot like Chrismtas...
Its beginning to look a lot like Chrismtas...

They're building the Christmas tree in the Plaza Mayor even while its snowing.
Jesus Snow AngelJesus Snow Angel
Jesus Snow Angel

On the terrace there was a good 2 or 3 inches.
Thats right....Thats right....
Thats right....

It says "0" degrees, the other night it even said "-6"
Chocolate & ChurrosChocolate & Churros
Chocolate & Churros

I wonder how many times I've mentioned Churros & Chocolate on this blog....


Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0371s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb