Almost done


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León » Salamanca
December 9th 2008
Published: December 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Some classes have ended, finals have started, and my time here is winding down. In some ways, I feel like I just got here, but some things I've done seem like they happened so long ago. I remember the day I arrived like it was yesterday. I was nervous about having to live my life in Spanish for the following 4 months and about living with a Spanish family, whom I knew nothing about other than the name. I remember finding it hard to eat for a few days just because of the nervous tingling in the pit of my stomach. Now, the butterflies are gone and I feel like Salamanca is a home. I know it so well; it seems crazy that I may never come back.

I went to a soccer game last week. Salamanca vs Córdoba. The game wasn't that great until the last five minutes when Salamanca finally made a goal and won the game. I guess I would compare the crowd to one of an American football game, though the fans here are much more enthusiastic. I would have enjoyed it more had it not been below freezing, but it did snow for a bit, so that raised my spirits. Cold weather is always more bearable with snow, don't you think? But I won't lie, my feet were definitely frozen by the end of the game, and it took about 30 minutes for them to thaw.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

The Cordoba fansThe Cordoba fans
The Cordoba fans

Would American football fans make something like that? Probably not.
Everyone that wentEveryone that went
Everyone that went

Erin, Austin, Glynna, Sarah, and me
The Salamanca FansThe Salamanca Fans
The Salamanca Fans

The banner says "Grita el Corazón" which means, "The heart yells/cheers" I guess. It's the 'anthem' for the Salamanca team, Hala Unión. You can listen to it here: http://www.elfutbolin.com/equipos/salamanca/himno.asp
The Salamanca TeamThe Salamanca Team
The Salamanca Team

Along with a children's soccer team, who got to play a mini game on the fiels at halftime
Yum. Game snacksYum. Game snacks
Yum. Game snacks

Sarah's going to have trouble washing the Cheeto-orange off her gloves. But she was so cold, she didn't want to take them off.


Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0541s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb