Avila and Futbol


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León » Salamanca
September 14th 2008
Published: September 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
In the ConventIn the ConventIn the Convent

There were all sorts of the mirrors placed on the ground so that you could get a good view of the vaulted ceilings without straining your neck (maybe?)
Yesterday....
I left Salamanca on the 12:45 train to Avila. After a ten minute walk the group and I arrived within the walls of the old towne. The castle-like walls called "La Muralla" surround the entire city. Visitors can climb the stone steps and walk on the top of the wall for a panoramic picture of Avila and the countryside of Castile y Leon.
We visited the Cathedral of Avila which was ornate but not very well kept up. The Church of St.Theresa was much better and I got to see the room where Saint Theresa was born, though I doubt there was as much gold there in her time.
Avila is known for their special dessert called "Yemas of Avila." They are pretty much consist of egg yolk and lots of sugar that has been whisked until it form a semi-solid consistency - then you eat it. I tried one but didn't care for the taste.

Today....
This morning I attended mass at the Cathedral again - nothing new there. Afterwards, I read that there would be a futbol (meaning soccer!) game today with free attendance. I asked my host-mom about it and she gave me directions
Church of St.EstebanChurch of St.EstebanChurch of St.Esteban

The entire altar was made of gold and bronze. The church was beautiful - I hope to attend a mass there. The guide said that unfortunately it doesn't get much use because only about 30% of all Catholics in Spain are "practicing" Catholics.
and told me it would be "a little different," but I didn't know what she meant by that and I didn't ask. My roommate, API neighbor and I left for the one o'clock game. Instead of a grassy field, we found a very modern looking indoor stadium, with one problem - the field was completely made of sand. All the players were barefoot and it was like beach soccer. It was still a lot of fun and Spain beat Portugal 3-1! Now I'll pay attention when my host mom says something is different.


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Inside the conventInside the convent
Inside the convent

Very pretty gardens, but I didn't see a single nun, called "hermanas" in Spain.
St. Theresa ConfessionalSt. Theresa Confessional
St. Theresa Confessional

Apparently she came to the Convent in Salamanca to confess in this little room - she also liked to sit there and write her book - looked a little small for me.
Convent GardenConvent Garden
Convent Garden

With my new pink bag that I bought for 3e at the Rastro outdoor market.
Fire showFire show
Fire show

These street entertainers had batons and ropes that they set on fire and danced around with. It was surprisingly good.
Elephants in SalamancaElephants in Salamanca
Elephants in Salamanca

When walking to the train station we saw this semi-truck parked on the side of the road and when the man opened the back door an elephant walked out - maybe it needed a bathroom break?!
Train for AvilaTrain for Avila
Train for Avila

The three girls on the right are in my group, but they were seated in a different coach. On the train my friend and I met a man that spoke Polish and Spanish - he greeted me in Polish but all I could say back was Babci and Cioci!
"La Muralla""La Muralla"
"La Muralla"

My roommate and I on top of the Muralla (wall).
Friends in AvilaFriends in Avila
Friends in Avila

Allison (my neighbor) and Jenny from the API group
St.Theresa's roomSt.Theresa's room
St.Theresa's room

This is the room that St.Theresa was born in - I don't think there was this much gold back then.Interesting fact: She wasn't buried here, only her heart and arm bone are in Avila.
Sitting atop the MurallaSitting atop the Muralla
Sitting atop the Muralla

I really liked this fortress wall, or at least I took a lot of pictures
The sundial of AvilaThe sundial of Avila
The sundial of Avila

Its placed on top of the Muralla and when we saw it, it just happened to be "The Hour of St.Theresa" - how appropriate.
Modern Building for DadModern Building for Dad
Modern Building for Dad

It also happens to be the entrance to the stadium and public pools.
Futbol PlayaFutbol Playa
Futbol Playa

They played on a sand field in barefeet!
Crowd and StadiumCrowd and Stadium
Crowd and Stadium

Pretty good size and crowd since the upperdeck was closed.


Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0518s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb