One week to go...


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León » Salamanca
July 27th 2008
Published: July 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Salsa-maniaSalsa-maniaSalsa-mania

Here´s the group that I made it to the salsa place with!
Hello all!

This week has been a fun week. Certainly filled to the brim with moments of feeling "ready" to return to the USA, but nonetheless a good time. I´m finally reaching that full immersion point. I´m not sure exactly how to explain it, but it´s almost like it takes so long to get to where you forget you´re in a different place. I walk among the streets now and it doesn´t occur to me that everyone around me is speaking a different language than my native tongue. I hear statements, and just know what people are saying without actually being in the conversation. It feels so good to be reaching that place. In some moments, I wish I could continue to stay in this place of language immersion... but the call to be home is much stronger. 😊 I just can´t wait to be in my own space again.

I had a crazy teacher for a politics class that was the most right-winged man I have ever met in my life. Just imagine how wonderful that was for me. Insightful, right? He constantly claimed to be giving facts, yet his arguments were lined with clear Franquista support. He was all about the authentic Spaniard... and felt the rest of society had nothing to offer. In fact, at one point, he regarded Spain as a nation that, if not well controlled by the government, will become a país bananero. Basically, that means a third world country full of banana farms and without any sense of education, government, etc. Unbelievable!! And, to think he said it in a room filled with people of so many different countries... including some of the poorest Central and South American countries. I struggled this week. And, you know that my body language is enough to tell the guy I was annoyed. 😊 Oops. Our exam was one essay question. I´m not sure that he´ll enjoy my response, but I found it impossible to not stand up for things that I believe in. There were so many students that just spit back what he had been preaching all week. I just couldn´t do it... perhaps my grade will be less than adequate, but I have learned that something just aren´t worth the sacrifice.

I had the chance to go to a 2-year old birthday party this week... a nephew of the lady I stay with. It was really neat to see how a family celebrates such an occasion. To begin with, the 2-year old was fast asleep by the time it came to a conclusion!! 😊 The gifts were simple, not overdone like we tend to see in the states. The cake was incredible!! They really know how to do chocolate here!

Let´s see, what else?? Oh, I had my first salsa dancing night! Unreal! I kept saying... give me a ball, virtually any kind of ball, and I can be successful... but something about my body and dancing just doesn´t mix! Some cuban guy grabbed me from the sidelines and pulled me onto the floor. Crazy, crazy, crazy! I don´t think he had a clue how bad I was going to be! It was a good time, though. Another cultural experience, I guess. I did, above all things, really love the music.

I´m gearing up for another week of 3 exams. I take off from Salamanca on Thursday afternoon to head to Valencia. I´m really excited for the trip. Initially, I had thought about a Toledo/Segovia adventure, but I´ve decided to leave that for next year! For now, I´m going to give myself the gift of a beach for a few days! Valencia is (from what I hear) an incredible town! It´s actually one of the sites of the IU Honors (high school) program, so it will be pretty neat to have seen what the kids see that get to attend from Brebeuf. Anyway, hopefully I will find internet access there as well to update you all on the adventure!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0579s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb