Miguel's Birthday


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León » Salamanca
November 16th 2007
Published: November 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So this week was Miguel's birthday. Thirty-three years well completed as they say in Spanish. We celebrated last weekend on Saturday, lot's of fun except that I was sick.

So with my horrible cold and hacking cough (of course, how else would the party have been complete?) I set about making a feast for Miguel and friends in our house. I made onigiri (japanese rice triangles with fish and seaweed), Fritatta with lima beans (a kind of Italian style quiche) and Enchiladas with beans veggies and lots of hot sauce (seperate of course, Im sure I have mentioned before that Spaniards do NOT like spices, the only spices that figure into the Spanish diet are salt, pepper, garlic and olive oil....how exactly did these people establish colonies in countries with some of the spiciest cuisine in the world?).

After several hours and lots of food, Miguel and his friends opted to go out for a few drinks. I was of course in no condition to join them and promptly popped a few cold meds and went to bed where I belonged. ´Round about 5 am Miguel comes home and has to ring the bell to get into the house because he has locked himself out. I get up to let him in, being the good girlfriend I am, and off we go to sleep.

Then at about 8 am Miguel wakes me up and asks me to bring him a bucket as he fears he is about to be sick. While I am obliging this request, our roomate Barba is in the bathroom being sick (what exactly did these boys drink?) and thinking if anyone has the right to be sick, it is me! Im the one with the cold, not you two lushes!

But that's a birthday celebration, isn't it? And now that I am fully recovered from my awful cold I can laugh about it. I wonder how Miguel's 34th will be next year? I must make sure Im healthy so i can go out with them, apparently these boys need strict monitoring around celebrations.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0471s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb