The Universe, Futbol and Other Things...


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León » Salamanca » Villamayor
April 27th 2012
Published: April 27th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Thoughts to Jot: I've already said this to a couple of you, but one of my favorite parts of traveling is that you have no idea what each day will bring you! I seriously feel so much more open to spontaneity and what the Universe has to offer when I travel. Last weekend I had no evening plans and Judith invited me out with her friends. We were out until 4:30 AM-hanging out with 2 different groups of friends of hers. She showed me all the cool bars where the Spaniards hang out (VERY awesome places-unlike the bars I've seen in the States) and I found myself dancing to solely Spanish music all night and watching spontaneous bouts of Flamenco dancing break out. Very fun! The next day (I slept three hours that morning then was on a bus) I showed up in Segovia by myself and 5 minutes after getting off the bus, ran into a classmate of mine. He was also there on his own, so we spent the day touring together. Awesome! I've enjoyed learning what it means to wait more patiently on the Universe to see what it brings forward and to jump on those opportunities.
Famous Roman AquaductFamous Roman AquaductFamous Roman Aquaduct

We're talking over 2,000 years old!

Sentiments: United States-I love you! I have been talking for years now about just how wonderful Europe is, how it's so much better than the US, how great it would be to live there, blah de blah blah blah...I have seriously never been so patriotic as I am now! I saw President Obama (the Preezy of the United Steezy) on Jimmy Fallon's late night-I think it was the 4/24 episode-and laughed my ass off! Please watch it if you haven't already! I LOVE that our President can do something stupid like that. Not sure this could occur in any other country...

Questions: Why do the Salamancan men wear wool sweaters (with long sleeved tailored shirts underneath) to the bars/clubs? Seriously-those places get PACKED like a sardine can! Of all people who should know better...

Something of the Ridiculous: 1. All the sentence examples in my grammar class (to demonstrate how to use the different verb tenses) are about Futbol-all of them! Example: "Messi es el mejor jugador pero su equipo ha perdido." ("Messi is the best Futbol player but his team lost." For those who don't know, Messi is with Team Barca...). So, let's please add another item to the list of ABSOLUTES in Spain (in order of importance): Ham, Futbol, Tuna. 2. I am now officially addicted to watching Anatomia de Grey (Grey's Anatomy) in Spanish. Every Tuesday and Thursday folks....NEVER watched the series in the US but it's become another fabulous way of learning the language 😊

Challenges: Vanity! I have been wearing the SAME pair of boots every single day since arriving (herein may lay the reason why I have not yet had any hot romantic encounters!). In addition to this, I have also been wearing the same three pairs of pants for over a month now. I am not kidding you-it has been extremely humbling! The upside of all this is when I go home, my closet will look and feel like I'm a Kardashian!

Note to Self: Careful with how friendly I am with the male-friends...my friend from Zimbabwe (who works for the UN!) literally started having a conversation with me about if I want to have a family, explaining that he essentially thinks that he might be falling in love with me. He later proceeded to ask if I would come visit him in Zimbabwe if he paid for the ticket. Flattering but not where I was headed with this!

Newish Words for the Day: Advertisement. Not Spanish, I know, but Judith recently told me this is her FAVORITE English word because to her, it sounds lovely! To each their own...

On Today's Menu: Cereza y Almendra Tarta-essentially an almond and cherry cake. OH MY GOD!!! So I will be unpatriotic here and say that Europe still thrills me with it's pastries and sweets. This cake type treat had me MELTING! Would make every single meal here a pastry if I could...

XOXO Sarah

Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.055s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb