In Ponferrada


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León » Ponferrada
September 29th 2010
Published: September 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Monday 27th September - continued...

In Astorga. Armando and I went for Pizza, not bad, but terrible service. When we came out Guy and Johan were chatting outside in the plaza, so we sat with in the sun with them for a while. I mentioned to Johan (I´d been talking about it for days to Armando), that I was dying for a bath. He offered the use of his hotel room for an hour, so I could have a bath. WOW....who would think something so simple could get me so excited!! And also, another example of how, on the camino, you just seem to get everything you ask for. Anyway, I took him up on his offer, and had a bath. What a treat. I felt a bit like a princess, it was great just to be in a lovely hotel room, and then to have a bath...wonderful. And afterwards, I finally felt really clean and even a little bit feminine again.

After that me and Armando went to do errands and see the sights - the gaudi castle, the cathedral and the centre of the city. I loved the gaudi castle - totally gorgeous. While seeing the sights we banged into Johan again. He is just too generous. He told us that he had just had the most amazing ice cream and that we had to try it. So, off he went and bought us one each. Everytime I see him he buys me something. I must send him something from NZ as a thank you!

Then it was food and pharmacy shop and back to the albergue. Then chatted a bit with the spanish guys in our room. Hemma and Chemma.


Tuesday, 28th September

Astorga to Foncebadon. It was a totally beautiful walk today, loved it, all so pretty. We walked through some really lovely little villages. I walked alone most of the day, which was great.

I felt really happy today. It was the first day that I actually felt like listening to music. I really felt like singing so put on some tunes to sing along to. And then, when the path was clear... I was alone, I sang to my hearts content... and danced a little too. It made me realise how rarely I listen to music, really listen, to the tune and the lyrics, and just enjoy it. It was great fun!!

The last bit of the walk up to Foncebadon was a bit tough...steep and hot...but well worth it! Foncebadon is amazing... a very small place with a great energy. High in the mountains, great views, alot of crumbling, very old buildings. Miguel is our host - he´s lovely. Had a bite to eat at the local medieval restaurant - great service, food and atmosphere. We then went back to the albergue to help prepare the shared dinner. It was a great way to improve my spanish, as Miguel was instructing me on what to do - in spanish, and he doesn´t speak any english. He seemed very keen for me to do alot of the prep, which was fine, as it was actually heaps of fun. Dinner was great, but I was glad we also ate a bit before.

That night after lights out Miguel came into the room dressed as a templar night. To scare us I think. It was very very funny!!


Wednesday, 29th September

Today walked from Foncebadon to Ponferrada. After a really huge breakfast at the albergue we hit the road. It was kinda busy on the camino this morning, which wasn´t so nice. After a couple of kms we hit the iron cross, which is the place people leave behind a stone (or two) representing something they want to leave behind on the camino. I hadn´t realised we were due to arrive at it today, so was a little unprepared. Anyway, left my two stones, did some quiet reflection and continued on my way. I was pretty upset and cried for quite a while...due to my two stones and I had a feeling I may not see Armando again.

It was an amazing walk today... really great being up so high in the mountains. We were at 1500m, which is about as high as we go on the walk.

Anyway, Armando ended up catching up with me and said he needed to continue on alone. All good, of course, but set off even more tears. It was a rough day!!

Walked through a little village called Molinaseca, which was really pretty. I nearly stayed there as I was fed up with crying by that stage. But Armando convinced me to carry on. So, once again we are staying at the same place and sharing a room. Tomorrow we will need to go on seperately so I thought I would get on and start doing things alone. I went off to get money and food, and who did I bang into in the supermarket....Armando!!

Anyway, he said he was thinking about visiting the Templar castle and did I want to join him. Off we went, it was well worth a look. Amazing. And there were some other great buildings in town as well.

I´ve had dinner and am all ready for tomorrow. Signing off.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0409s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb