Birthday in Burgos


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León » Burgos
May 11th 2008
Published: May 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Natalie here...

We arrived in Burgos on the 11th...just in time to celebrate my 33rd in style! I was worried I would be stuck with a grocery store sandwich in a teeny tiny hilltown somewhere for my celebration dinner, so I was excited when we made the decision to go to Burgos. We arrived in the afternoon, and when I saw the grand cathedral in the plaza, I knew I would be in for some good food in this city. We sampled tapas from three different places where I was able to induldge in some of my Spanish favorites---tortilla Espanol, queso, and vino tinto. Of course we did our best to stay up with the Spanish, but we did not have much luck. The walks have been zapping my energy each day therefore making it a challenge to eat at the best tapas places, many of which do not open until 9 pm. But, as luck would have it, we found what appeared to be an authentic dessert place in business since 1881. Valor, did not disappoint. They served up some of the finest churros y chocolate I have ever indulged in. And so, while not quite a slice of birthday cake, I was quite pleased!

Advertisement



14th May 2008

Happy B belated B-day Khoa Phan Nat, Kim and I wish you the best. sounds like a great way to spend the day. S
25th May 2008

Missing You Both...
Happy belated birthday, Nat. Catching up on your blog from the veranda of a colonial home outside Colombo. Feet up and tea is being brought to me...might also order a mango shake. Was I really on the Camino with you? I can't believe you're still walking. Much love from your favorite Star Alliance Pilgrim -- Andy, aka Sardinas
31st May 2008

Happy belated b-day Nat!
Hi Natalie! Got your post card... thank you. Your trip sounds so fun and amazing.... I am envious of your adventure. When you get back I want to take you out for a belated b-day dinner and hear all about the trip. Love ya and miss ya! Julie V.

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 10; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0384s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb