something that means something


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León » Ávila
April 17th 2006
Published: April 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I know that’s a weird title but its true. I want to type something that means something, what ever it means I don’t know but I don’t want it to be meaningless. That’s why I haven’t written much mostly because I haven’t had anything nice to say or interesting. I just wanted to talk about menial 4everyday things, which I thought were useless piece of information. Captured and published taking up another tiny corner of the huge World Wide Web. Then I got to thinking menial everyday things are what life is made of. Life would be very wearisome if everyday was a grand adventure. That’s what I’m doing here I suppose is living. I’m not doing any awesome travelling or back packing across the country. I’m actually only seeing a very small portion of Spain, about fifty miles. I like what I see everything seems to be very beautiful. The weather for the most part is great. I like the trees; I think they are for pine nuts. I like the castles and ancient churches. Last week was holy week, which was very interesting. I saw 2 processions, (parades) which are just basically groups of church peoples dressed up in costumes and swinging incense in two parts one carrying a statue of Jesus and the other Mary. The two parts start out form different churches and are surrounded by large crowds ( at least in Vallodid the nearest decent size city). It is a very beautiful and at lest some what moving thing to watch, the first one I saw was in Vallodid and I was in a large crowed and before it stated everyone was just standing around waiting. The major clue to watch for is when the huge rarely used full size doors of the church swing open . It was sunset so large shadows were being cast everywhere. The church doors start to look as if they are getting read to open. They open and out walk about 10 people dressed all in black with just their eyes showing under pointy hats. One is carrying a large thing of burning incenses and is followed by they others. Looking in the church door I see shadow walking around cast in strange shapes. More of the black dressed people come out holding candles burning with large flames and two with a black embroidered banister. After then large or defined shadows appear cast on the back drop of the wall behind the open doors. The large statue of Mary surrounded by candles, music begins to play ( actually lights made to look like candles) carried on the shoulders of about ten more of the men in costumes except these are white now and behind them are women dresses are mourners. With black laced head coverings and long black dresses. The music picks up tempo and the band follows behind the mourners, and behind them in more of the costumes but now there are 3 or four reds and 10 or so more blacks. Then a whole crowed of them comes out of the church and the possessions moves on. There is later after this we go to meet them again and about 40 mins late the town processions the one of Jesus and The one of marry meet in a large square by the other church there are prayers and speeches my feet are tired so Rosa, Estelle and I go home.
So much has happened in the last 3 weeks since I have written don’t even know where to begin. I hope this does justice for now .It is just one of the good and unseal and beautiful things I have seen and done while here. Not only have I done interesting things maybe not all that often but more importantly I have learned tallest to understand Spanish for the most part. I can speak but generally just to get my point across. I think I understand to much, because I want to be able to say all that I understand but it doesn’t work out as well. There is an unseen amount of vocal I have that understand but only know when I hear. It’s very frustrating, mostly cause my verb conjugation, and sentence stuctrute sucks. I have a general lack of good grammar when I speak. This morning I said I was very better; I corrected and said much better but still. I think I would be a good translator Spanish to English but not the other way around. Oh well even if I’m not perfectly fluent I have certainly come along way. From not even being able to understand when some asks me how I slept or what time I went to bad.


Advertisement



22nd April 2006

holy week
your description of holy week sounds abolutly amazing. I hope you took pictures of it. Miss ya, see you soon

Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0815s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb