Day 10 & Day 11


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León » Segovia
May 24th 2012
Published: May 28th 2012
Edit Blog Post

ChurrosChurrosChurros

I know what you are thinking and no, I cannot take any back on the plane with me.
I apologize for the lack of communication for the last few days. Here is what I have been up to:

Mostly I have been really Spanish. I am embracing the culture. And by that I mean I have been lazy about everything. Love it here, but the people are so lazy about working in spite of being in “La Crisis.”

Nothing major has been happening. I have been finding my rhythm for living here and its been nice getting used to the slower life.

On Wednesday I tried Spanish churros, which are like plain funnel cake made in long strips. On their own they are not exciting. It is the thick chocolate dip served with them that make them worth getting. It is pretty much melted Hershey chocolate and completely fattening. Not that that is a bad thing. I consider it worth it.

Also on Wednesday we saw two guys pretending to be statues. They were pretty convincing and funny to see. I was really cool because they came into the bar in which our group was sitting and ordered drinks and we took pictures like rude tourists. They were really good humored and found it funny.
Iron MenIron MenIron Men

Okay not really but still pretty cool.


On Thursday we had another excursion, this time to a cooking class. On the way to meeting up with everyone there were hot air balloons floating over the aqueduct. The program director said that he would love for us to go on them but its about 180 euros to go. So we cant. The bus ride to the kitchen destination was about 15 minutes but we arrived ready to see what they wanted to cook for us.

It was a little different than we expected. The place we went to was a cooking school and one of the head instructors was the only one cooking. The dish we made was arroz negro (Black Rice). It is actually black.
It starts with frying peppers in oil and then adding stew and seafood. The last ingredient was squid ink (hence the blackness). It was really good for such a simple dish. I think that I would try it again.

After we got back from that we had class, and then lunch and a nice little siesta. I ended up having a little free time where I decided to not do any work and explore some. I found a little path outside the city and was able to see the cathedral and the surrounding area pretty well.

Other than that week was pretty uneventful look for my next blog sometime today about the weekend. Later,


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Arroz NegroArroz Negro
Arroz Negro

This dish was scrumptious and should be in the states if it is not already.
The CathedralThe Cathedral
The Cathedral

This is the Cathedral of Segovia from my new walking place.


Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 20; dbt: 0.0246s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb