Toledo, a jewellery lovers paradise


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile-La Mancha » Toledo
October 27th 2009
Published: November 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

If you love unusual jewellery and swords you will love Toledo. Originally Spain's capital city (until conquered by the Moors in the 8th century) it's now full of shops, all selling the same kinds of things to tourists BUT it is definitely a beautiful town in its own right. It's interesting to discover Toledo's Jewish, Moorish and Christian history. Such a range! The Jewish museum from 1366 is very interesting (and actually has lots of stuff written in English, which seems to be unusual in Spanish museums). I loved some of the old costumes and the film showing a traditional Jewish marriage. Not to mention the beautifully decorated plasterwork in the first room. Probably the best place I visited in Toledo.

Early on in my stay I was lucky enough to stumble across a shop where I watched a man make Toledo's famous damascene jewellery by hand. It's actually very hard to find a store where you can watch this done because most of the shops sell machine made items. The woman in the store also explained the process of production. Apparently that black metal is actually bronze which has been put in a chemical mix which totally oxidises it
Circulo de Arte CafeCirculo de Arte CafeCirculo de Arte Cafe

Awesome cafe, sadly no concert that night. Funky art though.
but doesn't damage the golden thread. I bought a necklace of celtic design made with gold and silver thread. When I wore it into other shops a lot of the workers said it was an unusual piece and wanted to know where I'd bought it. Score! And I didn't even pay that much!

After ducking in and out of shops trying to find my brothers 21st present (I DID eventually find a cool sword) I had a look at the Mezquita del Cristo de La Luz. This is a 10th century mosque preserved as it was before the Christian reconquest. Sadly there was so much construction happening in and around it that there wasn't really much to see. Though it's definitely trippy standing on glass and looking down onto the ruins beneath your feet. Feels a bit like you're falling! I also poked my head in to a couple of churches and a small sculpture gallery. The San Tome Chruch has El Greco's well known work 'The Burial of the Count of Orgaz' and whilst it was well done, I really couldn't see what all the fuss was about.

While I was in Madrid I saw some Picasso paintings and didn't think much off them. In Toledo there was a temporary exhibition of costumes designed by Picasso for various operas and plays. I may not like his art, but his costumes are freaky cool. I'm really glad I got a chance to see another side of his work. Some styles just work better in different mediums.

Tip: If you ever go to Toledo seek out Cafe Circulo de Arte Toledo which is a very funky cafe with its own rounded stage and bright modernist paintings on the walls. Sadly they only have performances on Saturday nights so I missed the show but its got a great feel to it anyway (and the tapas is great!).

I think the best time to wander around Toledo is at night too. There are lots of historical lanes which have a fantastic atmosphere in the dimness and away from some of the tourists. A climb up to the top of the hill for photo's is also a must. The town has a gorgeous skyline and it's a nice spot to watch the sunset. (Pictures of this still to come.)




Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Shadow on the wallShadow on the wall
Shadow on the wall

I love these arches.
Mezquita del Cristo de la LuzMezquita del Cristo de la Luz
Mezquita del Cristo de la Luz

A 10th century mosque.
Don't look down!Don't look down!
Don't look down!

In the Mezquita
AlcazarAlcazar
Alcazar

Sadly it's currently closed for refurbishment or some such.


Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0329s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb