My first experiences in Toledo


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile-La Mancha » Toledo
February 9th 2008
Published: February 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

1st week toledo0011st week toledo0011st week toledo001

outside of the sleek new hotel
Hey guys!

Well this entry is a bit delayed. I arrived in Spain on Jan. 22nd so I have been here for awhile now. I will try to include some earlier memories I had when i arrived but i can't garrntee they are correct! lol.

Well, the plane ride wasn't so bad. i am really scared of planes but it was soooooooo big and it didn't even feel like a plane! It was a very smooth ride and the food wasn't too bad either. I slept a little but they kept waking us up to eat! When we arrived in Madrid. We got all our lugage. When I say we, I mean me, Vania, and Cynamon. Two other girls from my university. We decided to take a taxi to the train station because with all of our luguage it woul be too diffucult to take a the metro there. The train station was well. The people weren't helpful like they ahd been in the airport but atleast we ahd eeach other to help one another. We got on the train to Toledo and it was only 25 minutes! It was a nice smooth ride and the trin was clean,
1st week toledo0021st week toledo0021st week toledo002

a plaza somewhere . There any many plazas
not like some trains you might find in the US. I would put it up there with Amtrak. It was likethe metro north but witht he quality of Amtrak without te train staff. There weren't any conductors or anything. It was strange.

Anyway we got there and we took a nother taxi to our hotel which was not located anywhere near the school. This meant we would have to walk to the school to meet the cordinator before classes started. I also couldn't mov einto my residence hall until Jan. 28!!! Yeah, I lost a lot of money. The girl I shared the hotel with; cynamon only booked it until the 26th so I had to find another hotel to stay in until that Monday. I found one very close to the school and i stayed there for two nights. It was so cuent. The first hotel was new and sleek but this hotel was old and spanishy and clean and beautiful. It was so amazing. I felt like I went back in time but with the pluses of the new age! lolol. The bed was much comfier too!

This wekk I have written about isn't so interesting and i have left a lot out but I just don't feel like writing about it; it was kind of boring. But I did take this train ride around the old city of Toledo (it's called the Casco this is where i stay in my residence hall). It was amazing. The views, the history was breathtaking. I remember thinking about how blessed i was to be here and how one could be in a palce liek this and have feelings like those. Words would not give my thoughts justice so I will stop describing it!

I will continue this soon.

xoxo Besos Besos,
Rachel


Additional photos below
Photos: 43, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

1st week toledo0051st week toledo005
1st week toledo005

A door to a biiiiiiiiiiiiig church
1st week toledo0131st week toledo013
1st week toledo013

a cousin of the palm tree...
1st week toledo0161st week toledo016
1st week toledo016

the beautiful architcture
1st week toledo0171st week toledo017
1st week toledo017

zoocodover plaza
1st week toledo0181st week toledo018
1st week toledo018

me, vania, and cynamon on the zookodover tren


Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0394s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb