The ruff stuff is over?


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Basque Country » Etxebarria
September 5th 2012
Published: September 5th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Ola,

Well I made it into Spain. St.jean was a great little town. Made some great friend so far. We headed to the mountain at 6:45am at day break. The mountain was much bigger than the pictures. We walked so high we were in the clouds. it was chilly and mysterious looking and then out of nowhere come a herd of wild horses? Insane and I got a few pictures. Walking 25 miles through the mountains with a backpack on is seriously crazy. My teeth hurt I am so sore, but I made it..... I never hurt so good before in my life, I made it out and we stayed at an albegure in Rocelvalees, France in an old converted monestary. Very cool.People are coming in all all times. This morning we walked into Spain out of the mountain. Walking down a mountain is as hard as walking up one. Again, no one can feel most of their bodies. We ended today in Zubiri Spain. This is the town where Martin Sheen dropped his pack into the river off the bridge in the movie the way.When you come into town you have to walk across the river and soak your feet. It's not that deep as it is in the movie. Then we checked into the albegure and showered. Tomorrow we head to Pamplona another 22 miles. We start at dawn. I have met people from all over the world. The people I am with are a guy from Cali 62 and girl from China 23, a guy from Spain 30, a guy from Iceland 33, and 2 woman 35 from Ireland. That's just the ones I stick with and walk with. Every country is here in numbers and everyone will do backflips to help each other. A great concept. The scenery is unbelievable? Anyway I am going to see if i can get some pictures out to you all. Hope the quitting thing is working for some of you as I know it has to be equally as tough as what I am doing. It will be worth it I promise. Anyway, I am not sure how long I can stay up. I'm beat. So take care and I hope to get you caught up soon but the Internet service in these remote and rural towns is non existent.

Ciao,

Rich

Advertisement



Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0698s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb