Seawatching from the M.V. Salamanca.


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Basque Country » Bilbao
October 5th 2023
Published: October 15th 2023
Edit Blog Post

I absolutely love that the Rosslare to Bilbao ferry now carries foot passengers and cyclists. This is my second time to use the service.

The Brittany Ferry owned M.V. Salamanca is a lovely new ferry and the calm conditions allowed for seawatching.

I had a much smoother crossing than The Earls did in 1607. During the 27 hour crossing I added two more species to my lifetime list (not that I keep an actual list). I enjoyed lovely views of great shearwater and corys shearwater. Both can be seen on land based seawatches in donegal, but I have never managrd to find them before. However they stayed tantalizingly just out of range for a good pboto. I've added a few of the best shots here. Dull light and heavily cropped.

A pod of dolphins followed us for a while too. They stayed a respectable distance behind the ship. Several at a time would leap completely clear of the water. A beautiful sight.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Corys ShearwaterCorys Shearwater
Corys Shearwater

A new species for me.
Touchdown Touchdown
Touchdown

I spent ages trying to get a photo of a dolphin in flight. This was the closet I got.
Lands End.Lands End.
Lands End.

We sailed about 15 miles off shore past Lands End. I've been there on several different trips now. A new experience sailing by it.
Great shearwaterGreat shearwater
Great shearwater

Another new species for me.
Corys Shearwater and gannet.Corys Shearwater and gannet.
Corys Shearwater and gannet.

Similar colour, but very different shape and size. They also have a different flight pattern.
Great skua.Great skua.
Great skua.

Colloquially known as a bonxie. They are pirates of the sea.


Tot: 0.277s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 15; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0648s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb