Just over a week!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Balearic Islands » Majorca
February 2nd 2011
Published: February 2nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hola Hola!!!!!



Well, I have officially been in Europe for a week and two days and aside from hauling my two gigantic suitcases around 2 countries and 4 airports, everything has been absolutely phenomenal!!!!

First was London with Francie which could not have been more fun!!! Had delicious, delicious food including tapas and sangria, curry in brick lane, the best bratwurst I've ever had (besides yours of course, Dad) and some amazing Lebanese food.

Froak was an amazing tour guide and showed me such cool places that are off the mainstream -- aside from Tiger Tiger, a club in central London which we were in for 7 hours hahaha.

After a phenomenal London trip, I headed to my home for the next 5 months, Palma de Mallorca. Had a lay over in Frankfurt (the homeland) and had a few German brews and some soft pretzels and delicious hot dogs while talking to a pilot from Italy!! Great layover even though I almost missed my flight to Palma since I forgot there was a time change from London to Germany haha...

PS... My flight from Frankfurt to Palma had an ABSOLUTELY STUNNNING view of the Swiss Alps. First time I have ever seen mountains and I was literally mind blown. Can't wait to visit Switzerland now.

I spent a day in Mallorca walking around on my own after a good night sleep. To say it is the most beautiful place I have ever seen is such an understatement. Do yourself a favor and google le seu cathedral mallorca and you will see the center of this stunning city. The backdrop of the cathedral is the mediterranean full of hundreds of yachts and fishing boats in the harbor and mountains to the north.

The city itself is so so charming. Tiny alleyways and streets and beautiful plazas. Tons of tapas places and just adorable cafes and bars. Apparently along the ocean there is street called "el paseo maritimo" that has famous clubs that stay open all hours of the night. When I tell people from Europe I am studying in Palma, they just tell me there is no such thing as studying here, only fun haha... Not objecting to that 😊

But in all honesty, the Mediterranean lifestyle is contagious. So much more laid back and loving. No one is ever in a rush and everyone is always sitting outside sipping "cafe con leche." Its about 40-60 here during the day and they say its freezing haha.

The people in my program (only 8 of us, 7 girls, 1 boy) are all great and from all over the US which has been so interesting.

The food is amazing. There is one dish called panboli which basically means bread with olive oil (they are famous here for their olives and olive oil and WOW are they delish.) You take a tomato and smear it all over your toasted bread slice, add olive oil, garlic and your choice of a spread of meat, fish, cheese, etc. YUM!

Today I moved into my family stay. It is in an apartment about 10 min walk from the center of the city! I have una madre who is so so cute. She reminds me of my real mom (obviously not as amazing) but she is super cute and sweet, really relaxed and generous. I live in the daughter's room who is my age, but away at college in Cordoba. I also have a brother who is 22 and is super interested in computers and photography so I'm hoping to go take some pictures with him and learn more about photography which was one of my goals of the trip. Also, maybe he can make me a bit more tech-savvy.

I have my own bedroom and bathroom which is great. Tomorrow we tour the University and begin a week of intensive language class. Were meeting everyone at 9:30 am and its now 1:06 am here so I need to get some sleep, but that's whats been happening here!!

To sum it up, I love it here. I feel very very blessed and I can't wait for the weekend to get a taste of this night life that has such an AMAZING reputation haha.

Sorry there haven't been photos on facebook yet, missing a camera cord and having computer trouble, hopefully in the next week!

Love and miss you all! Come visit!



Advertisement



2nd February 2011

So Cool!
M - I think this communication tool is just so cool, practical, useful, and well, dare I say it... "Neat!" Thanks for sharing with me, all that you do, during this portion of your journey. : ) J -
2nd February 2011

Sounds like you have having an amazing time gons!! Your description of all the different foods makes my mouth water lol Miss you woman!!
2nd February 2011

Sounds like you have having an amazing time gons!! Your description of all the different foods makes my mouth water lol Miss you woman!!
2nd February 2011

wish we were there
Good to hear from you. Keep it coming. Love and hugs, Grandpa and Grandma.

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0376s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb