me and my camera both went swimming in the mediterranean


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia
June 8th 2009
Published: June 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Great weekend! Me and my friends stayed in Sevilla for friday night, mostly in an effort to save money and not have to pay for 2 nights in a hostel. We left Saturday morning at 8 am and headed to Matalascanas, a beach about 45 minutes south of Sevilla. The weather was perfect. The beaches of Spain are so nice because of how cool they are. In Sevilla, it is so hot! There is little breeze. At the beach it is at least 10 degrees cooler ... so nice! I'm about as tan as the Spaniards now ... or atleast I don't stick out as much!

The worst thing that happened was the tide. All i know is that one minute I was sleeping on the beach with my friends and the next I was wet and in a rush to pick up all my stuff, picked up my towel forgetting it had my camera on it and watched it take a swim in the ocean : ( It still turns on, but the screen is broken and it won't take pictures. I'm currently taking donations for a new camera when I get back! haha boooo. For the next 3 weeks, I will just buy disposable cameras and steal some of my friends pictures off facebook for my scrapbook. I will just use Lisa's camera once she gets here and while we are traveling through Europe. I was not alone in my losses; we lost 3 cameras between the 6 people that stayed overnight.

Classes are still going well. Everything is good. By now almost everyone is crazy burnt, or hurting in some way, but luckily I am still doing well! I've had two of my best friends here get pick pocketed so far as well. I lock my backpack when I am walking around the city. I'm blowing through money like it's my job. Debt is my new hobby.

I have two more classes and a final until I am done my first class here! I'm excited for my next class - Health Care in Developed Countries. It will count as my nursing elective credits which is sweet. This week the people who are starting during session 2 are coming. It is strange that once you finally get used to your friends here, new people are coming and some of my friends are leaving already. This weekend we have a day trip through CIEE on sunday to Cadiz, a beach town about an hour away. On Thursday we don't have official class, but we have an activity in the streets at some point during the day. It is a very famous holiday, Corpus Christi. Later in the day I might go to a bull fight, but it might be too expensive. I'll let you know how it goes!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.35s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 58; dbt: 0.1213s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb