Another Week


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia
October 23rd 2008
Published: October 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Back to the daily grind!
Monday was good… I went to the library briefly before school and then I had class with the 4 year olds. I worked on the words “pencil, glue, crayon and scissors” with them. They are so cute! Then they just colored because I mean, they are only 4 haha. So after that class I had a break for a bit so I did some stuff in the office at school and then my last class of the day I spent half with 3rd grade English working on introductions and the other half I spent with 4th grade science. I was all on my own with them. I worked on the senses and asked them for examples of things pertaining to each sense. They did better than I thought. After school we had lunch and then went to the grocery store. We all took naps and after siesta we went to the library. I got to talk to my dad and colleen for a minute so that was good! After the library we made dinner about 9:30 and then watched some tv and worked on school stuff. Then it was bedtime!
Tuesday was the usual as well. Woke up and had breakfast before heading to the library. I made an activity for my 3rd graders about describing them selves and I put a picture on it for them to color. They really liked it. I then did a listening activity with them describing others and coloring. After that I had 6th grade English. Of course we wasted the first 15 minutes trying to get the kids to be quiet and sit in their seats. The teacher argued with the class trouble maker for like 10 of that and the other kids just talked amongst themselves. Then we went over a test they took last week and then listened to another cheesy song from their book. I have no idea how that helps them learn English but ok! We just did some pronunciation stuff and then the day was over! I’m going to make them a word search for Thursday cuz I feel like their class is boring so I want to give them something fun before I teach their lesson.
After school we had lunch and then went on our daily hike. We found a new street today, haha, but of course we couldn’t get ourselves lost. Our landlord and handyman came over after that and tried to fix our door to our patio and Ceci’s window. Then we went to the library of course to work on school stuff. After that, a teacher from our school, the one who’s birthday we went to, came over for coffee and we talked for a while about teaching and stuff. The Spanish teacher system is crazy! You might get moved around from one school to another, month to month, until you can secure a position, which could take years! And every 2 years you have to take a test to get points for yourself to get a secured spot. You can also do extra stuff like classes and publications to get more points. Its just crazy and a tough life it seems. But after Ana left we made some dinner

and then I took a nice hot shower since we got out hot water working again! Then I worked on some school stuff and I got ready for bed.
Wednesday was the same old same old. Went to the library after breakfast and then to school. I met with Antonio and planned an activity for the 4th grade science class. I worked on part of the plant with them and what plants need to live. After school we had lunch as usual our afternoon walk. We went to the library right at 5 and then at 6 we went to a pasty shop to get some sweets to take to Ana’s house to plan the Halloween activities. David, the English coordinator came also. We planned stuff for every grade, as well as some games for the actual Halloween party. David also told us that they were planning on hiking a hill near Priego a few weeks ago, but not everyone could go, so they want to try again in like 3 weeks, and invited us to come as well. He was telling us about places to hike and said that any time we want to go somewhere just to ask and he’d me more than happy to go. So that was exciting! We went home around 9 or so and had random things for dinner. We watched some cheesy Spanish sitcom and went to bed earlier than usual.
Today was just the same stuff I do every day. Rachel and I got new schedules for school, they are pretty much the same I just have an extra added coordination time since we didn’t have exactly 12 hours before. I had English with the 6th graders today and we started doing a role-play exercise to work on speaking but of course they were so bad that we had to quit. They were preoccupied with a bee flying around the room. Then I wrote sentences on the board with missing spots to work on “there is/there are.” It was good, I really like the 6th graders a lot. After school Rachel and I went to the candy store to buy stuff for the Halloween party next week. We came home and had lunch and we all fell asleep haha. Now the library and working on school activities.



HERE IS A YOUTUBE LINK VIDEO ABOUT MY CITY--

#



Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0286s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb