On the road again...


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia
November 13th 2007
Published: November 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

GranadaGranadaGranada

this isn't of anything of real importance, but it looks cool.
Well, we just had another long weekend here in Spain. It is amazing the amount of holidays that this country celebrates. There have been long weekend 3 out of the last four weeks and there are two more in the next four weeks. Anyways, we took advantage of the time off to check out Granada. Granada is about a 5hr bus ride to the south from Madrid and possesses the Alhambra, one of the world's most popular attractions. Kristi, Nina, Sara and I hopped on the bus about 9am Friday morning. This is one thing that seems so different for me...in the states we never hop on the bus to get away for the weekend, at least I don't. It is not the most comfortable mode of transportation, but it is much more relaxing than having to drive yourself. Enough rambling...In addition to the Alhambra Granada is famous for it's tapas. As I've probably explained before tapas is food given to you with your drinks. Traditionally, in Spain they are given out free of charge, but times have changed and in most places you have to pay for them now. Not in Granada...they serve gigantic portions of food along with a
TapasTapasTapas

one of our many stops during the weekend.
beverage of your choice for 2 euros. We did our best to navigate the city by allowing the tapas to lead us! We also took a short hike up to Barrio Sacromento which is a very interesting place as well. The mountain actually houses people. People live in, for lack of a better term, caves. The have done their best to make them look "homey", but a cave is a cave. I didn't take any pictures of them because they are people's home, but I'm holding out hope that Sara wasn't as respectful as I was because it was a sight to see.

So here are some pictures from the trip...I hope everybody is doing well! I am starting to run short on time here, so Im not sure how many more blogs I will be posting or how many trips I will be taking. Either way I am looking forward to seeing everybody for the holidays! Hablamos pronto...hasta pronto!


Additional photos below
Photos: 37, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

GranadaGranada
Granada

Kristi and I in front of a huge bull.
GranadaGranada
Granada

Nina and I on our tapas crawl
TapasTapas
Tapas

Kristi and Sara enjoying some jamon serrano y queso
GranadaGranada
Granada

view from the hostel
GranadaGranada
Granada

View from Alhambra
GranadaGranada
Granada

waiting to get into the palace inside the Alhambra
GranadaGranada
Granada

washing my face in one of the many fountains.
GranadaGranada
Granada

view from the Alhambra
GranadaGranada
Granada

view from the Alhambra
GranadaGranada
Granada

view from the Alhambra
GranadaGranada
Granada

inside the Alhambra. (one of my favorite pics)
GranadaGranada
Granada

I'm a serious person.
GranadaGranada
Granada

Kristi and I keeping watch over things
GranadaGranada
Granada

The Tripod. that would be the name of our music group and this would be our album cover.
GranadaGranada
Granada

about to take the plunge. Pretty good form, dont you think Brendan?
GranadaGranada
Granada

taking a stroll
GranadaGranada
Granada

more fountians
GranadaGranada
Granada

more fountains


14th November 2007

Lucky you
Hey Stephen et al., I envy you this trip. I did get to Granada ten years ago on my first trip to Spain, and I found the Alhambra stunning. I even read Washington Irving's book, The Alhambra, on that trip. The tapas trail sounds very cool, too. Enjoy what's left of your stay! Love, Phyllis

Tot: 0.331s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0467s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb