reflections on friends


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Seville
February 6th 2006
Published: February 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So, although I haven´t had the opportunity to interact with many Spaniards my age, I have managed to make friends with the other Americans in my program. I thought I´d reflect on them briefly.

Leshia. Not just a friend from my program, but my "amiga mejor" none the less. We are, again, roommates, and fortunately, we´re still tight. We have two language classes together, so studying should be fun.

Matt. From near DC area, attends University of Maryland. This kid was fortunate enough to attend a bilingual elementary school where half of the day was in Spanish and half in English. Although he claims to have lost some of the Spanish skills, I don´t believe him. Matt and I talk about music and read our respective Spanish books together. Parks are more fun when there are two people trying to comprehend books in a foreign language.

Marie. Actually from Iowa, and attends University of Northern Iowa, extremely close to my house. Marie is almost like my 4th roommate, and people sometimes assume she lives with me and my roommates beause we´re together so much. Marie and I also like to talk about music, but we talk about instruments and playing music.

Dan. From Nebraska, attends KU. This is exciting, because we´ve already made plans for when we get back to the States. Dan and I talk about anything, but especially religion. He is Catholic, I am Protestant, and it´s very interesting to have a sounding board to ask questions. Also, Dan´s girlfriend is studying in Prague this semester . . . lucky thing!

Lauren and Cariss. My other two housemates. It´s amazing how well the four of us get along. It´s almost as if our program matched us up, although they definitely didn´t. We do most things together, and meal times are especially fun, with our host mom teaching us the words for the foods we eat.

Carmen. My host mom, or Senora. She´s a divorced mother of two grown children. She has an amazingly nice apartment, which is now my home for 4 months. Carmen doesn´t speak any English, so we can only get better at Spanish while living with her. She´s really helpful, and loves to talk to us. I couldn´t ask for a better homestay situation.

Well, that´s the posse. These people are pretty cool, and I´m glad we´re in Spain together.

Advertisement



7th February 2006

Well, I don't know if you're getting my emails, I've been sending them, but either you haven't recieved them, or you're too busy having a wonderful time. The latter I'm ok with, but if it's the first, I don't want you to feel left out. I miss you bundles, and I'll try to send an email again soon. Love Ya!
7th February 2006

have fun
sounds like you're having a good time. see you come may
13th February 2006

MISSING YA
sounds like a great time and I love talking to you on MSN when we are both on at the same time...but boy do I miss having you and Leshia around...this summer will definatly have some interesting times! I can't wait!

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0417s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb