do we want to change rooms again?


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Seville
September 17th 2008
Published: September 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today is not a super exciting day for you all to hear about, but this is my blog!!! I got up today and went to school! We got our participation grades for the first of three weeks of class and I got a 92%. That's good. I expect it to go up for this week, though. We start class at 9am and have a break at 11 for a half an hour. During the break we often have mtgs, or we can go to the computer lab, or leave to grab some coffee or whatever. I went and listened in on a mtg about taking a class at the university of Sevilla. I might want to next semester, so I listened now, so that I know what to consider.

For the second part of my class today, my class went to a mercado (a fresh food market) to learn about it with our teacher. It was like pikes place in seattle. It was beautiful and it is so fun to see the different things that they have in other countries. They have whole stands that sell toro (bulls) that were freshly killed in a bullfight. eeeww. They have the tongues and the feet and stuff all packaged up. They also sold calf heads, rabbit bodies with hair and without, full chickens, shark, lots of fish, snails, lots of olives, and a ton of beautiful fruits and veggies. We tried a fruit that looks like an artichoke, but the leaf things are just a pattern on the skin, not actual leaves that you can pull off. It was interesting. A very sweet mix between a grape and something I had in Costa Rica one time?! I really like my teacher. She is so nice. She said that her best friend lives in san francisco; I told her to let me know when she comes to visit!

Then I went to the bank to change money. When I asked if I could change money, they said... it depends, what kind of money? Where are you from? I couldn't believe they didn't just know I was american like it seems everyone does when they see me.

For lunch we had really sunny side up eggs, french fries, salad with tuna, and some frozen veggie medley. There was also a fish soup that had like huge gross things in it like mussels and squids with all their parts. I passed. UGH!! Then bananas for dessert.

Now, I have dance class at 4pm and I hope to go running later!

So, the title of my blog??!!! My friend Ruth lives in one of the apartment style rooms in the dorms. She has her own room with a girl from france and from spain in the other rooms. Yes, she took the spot that I was supposed to have when everything changed. Well, she found cockroaches in all of the apartment. In her room, the kitchen, the bathroom... then she talked to the guy who lived there last year and he said it was the same then and that everytime they try to get rid of them, they come back. So Ruth demanded that they move. Well, the woman that works at the dorms came to me and antonette today, closed the doors around us and privately asked us if we would like to "upgrade" to individual rooms in an apartment that has a small problem that is being fixed. What a bitch!! She didn't know that we knew. Which is stupid because she knows we are here with ruth. lol. We were like no thank you. Bye!!!

So, now I am in my room, enjoying my siesta. I hope everyone at home is having a great week. Sorry about the economy. My exchange rate wasn't so good today!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0386s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb