First Entry


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Seville
January 20th 2008
Published: January 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Well, I always start these with the best of intentions, but who knows how long I will stick with this. Spain is such an incredible country.
Things I would currently like to note however:
- the person nextdoor has been practicing their trumpet for the past 20 minutes (not the best musician either)
- the baby upstairs must be sleeping because otherwise it would be crying
- I seem to be home alone - a first and kind of nice to be honest.

Today we had a trip scheduled to go to Italicas (ancient Roman ruins) however, upon arrival we found out this place was shut down for the day. To remedy this, they shipped pretty much all 80 of us off to Carmona, another Andulsian region about 30km to the east(?) of Sevilla. We were told that we were off to see the Acropolis (the Spanish version), which initially sounded awesome. But, when we showed up, it turned out to look more like a sad collection of semi-arrange mud molds. The sad dirt oval didn't come across as anything to distingushed (or functional for that matter). There was also a buldozer adjacent to the site....just saying. Thankfully, there was more to our afternoon. In Spanish, we were walked though what the ancient ruins were all about, checked out some tombs, and had some pretty spectacular panoramic views of some Andalusian mountians. We then walked through Carmona, a smaller pueblo that had a Morrocan feel to all of the residence structures. It was absolultely phenomenal to watch the mist in the distance roll over the mountains and rivers. The town also offered a non-Catholic church which was very beautiful. It was definitely worth the visit (and it was free - what else would I have done all morning!)

I still cannot get over the fact that I am in Europe. I have these moments where everything is so foreign, and times when I feel inutterably connected to these people. It is difficult to explain but it is a very cool feeling. I get this inexplicable sense of well being as I walk along the sidewalks in Nervion - being shrouded by orange and palm trees with a full moon up above is pretty unbeatable. There is such a deep devotion to the culture and their way of living. These people are truely living. There is no stock market, there is no sense of urgency, there is just some subtle goal to be happy and peaceful. The tranquilidad is soothing to watch but it is something I just can't readjust my system too. These people know how to take it easy, take a step back, and just drink in what is, and experience life in all of its perfection. I am so jealous of their ability to just kick up their heels and do this. That is a true blessing to be able to be so engrained in that lifestyle.

Probably one of my favorite things is walking through Plaza Nuevo or Alfalfa on a sunny Saturday afternoon and seeing the venue packed with Sevillanos sipping red wine and soaking in the sun. They just seem to relish in their own existence - and who wouldnt in this place. It is so nice here. I still have so much to see, this place is huge.

I am setting some goals for myself (beyond my language aspirations, beyond scholastic, beyond the artificial things I am attemping to learn to give up). I want to be able to integrate some of this tranquility into who I am. I'm pretty sure if everyone had this much enjoyment for being alive the world would be cured of its ailments. This may be the panacea for mine.

Hopefully, I can keep this up. Spain and this experience is something I'm sure I will never be able to encapsulte in words or pictures, but it's worth it to write this down!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0377s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb