loving the spanish sun


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Málaga
April 11th 2014
Published: May 16th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Having previously thought my hotel was in the back of beyond it was quite a relief to find out that if I strolled passed a couple of very nice churches and over the river that is not a river, but is in fact a long, wide strip of wasteland where people walk their dogs and skateboard, I would actually be on the edges of the rather small city centre of Malaga. Picking up a warm croissant and freshly squeezed orange juice from the market I began my meander through the back streets until I came to one of the main thoroughfares which was being lined with thousands of seats and barriers in preparation for the Holy Week celebrations that were beginning in 2 days time. I eventually made my way towards the Cathedral where I picked up the hop on/hop off bus route. Enjoying the lovely sunshine and taking a top deck seat it was a lovely route which went past the harbour and the Alcazaba and into the new beach areas and up into the hills to reach the Castillo de Gibralfaro. I got off here and walked around the castle walls and soaked up the stunning views over the whole city and out to see. Malaga is on the cusp of some lovely hills and it made for a nice break. Back down in the city I got off the bus near the Picasso museum and started another long walk round that part of the town, stopping for a lovely al fresco tapas lunch and a cold beer. More churches, museums, a roman outdoor theatre, dinky little shopping streets and bars make for a very attractive way to spend a day of discovery. By the time I walked the full length of the city back to the hotel at around 8pm I was utterly worn out.


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0416s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb