My Arrival and Then Some


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Málaga
December 17th 2008
Published: December 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I woke up 9118 in the U.S. knowing by the next day I will be in Málaga. Before leaving I went out with my sister for beakfast and just hung out. It was nice. Then came the hard part. We all left for the air port, but I left little notes hidden around my house for my family to find. We packed all my things in the car and left my house. The car ride was very bitter sweet. I wanted to leave but I wanted every moment with my family I had left. We finally got to the airport and checked all my stuff in. One of the ladys working there was very intrested in my jacket. (The Rotary makes you wear this jacket, and when you meet an exchange student they give you their pin and you put it on your jacket so I had a couple of pins on mine) She actually gave me a pilot´s pin. I stuck it in the pocket of my jacket. We then had about 2 more hours untill I left, so we decited to eat, but we ate at a chinese place, but I would prefer my last meal be American food. It was still good though. I called some friends and said goodbye...again. Then walked to my gate. We all sat there waiting. I got a couple of good hits on my brother before I left. Then the call came to bord. That was a weird feeling. I stood up. Hugged my dad. My mom started to cry really hard. Then a couple of tears later I was sitting in my seat ready to take off. As my plane left I waved goodbye to my family standing in the window. I took off. In the plane nobody spoke. Which was bad because im a talker, but the plane ride wasn´t long so that helped.


When my plane landed in Detroit I went directly to my next gate which was where I found some of the other exchange students going to Spain. We waited for a while then we went to get some food. TacoBell. Still not American. Then I whiped out the Mac and we listened to Bollywood and played Spoons, but with starbursts. It was fun. Then we borded. The 7 hour flight was about to begin. I found my seat at the very back by the window. Next to me sat a man from Slovakia. Thank God he spoke. He was very intresting. On the plane was a tv in every head rest and you could map out where you were in the world, how long you had to go, and stuff like that. You could aslo watch all kinds of movies. I watched The Happening. It was really dumb. I kinda fell asleep ( It is really had for me to sleep in things that move). Then finally we were there. I saw huge whind mills as tall as a 40 story building. When we landed the other students and I went though security and coustoms and everything then found our gate along with another exchange student, borded our plane and off we went to Madrid. When we landed we all split up to go to our host city. I ate at a Mcdonalds. And another exchange student went to a tapas bar and bought a beer. And he was only 17. That was when I first noticed I was no where near home. Again I borded my plane, and left for my final destination Málaga. On the plane I met a lady who spoke little English who did Profesional Make Up. She was a manager. We talked almost the whole way down. We exchanged busniess cards. Then we landed and I went to find my bags. When I stepped out of the air port I looked for a sign saying Josh, but all I saw was 4 heads and then a slightly smaller one. They came up to me and hugged me and grabbed my bags. That was enough of a sign for me. After being awake for 20 something hours I was so tired. They took me to their appartment and showed me around. Then I crashed on the bed.

In the morning I felt sick from the airplane air. My throat was sore and my head felt bad. I took some ibprofine then I felt kinda better. For breakfast we had some bread, meat, milk, and monchego cheese. Monchego is a very famous Spanish cheese. Later they took me to a family party. I was like a celebrity. Everyone talked to me. I was given a mojito and a glass of whisky, and I still managed to beat everyone in ping pong. After the party I went straight to bed.

The next morning I woke up and had some yogurt then when to the pool they have at there apartment. Swam for a little while, then left to help fix lunch. We had gaspacho and some salmon with baby eels. As weird as it sounds it was good. Then I showed them some pictures of my friends and family and gave them my gifts. They liked everything. My host family is amazing! We rested for a little while then my host brother and his friend took me out to the city where we walked around and took some pictures. Some of the streets between the buildings are too small for cars or anything so everyone walks. It´s awesome. On one street there was this lady playing the acordian and singing opera and just rocking out. It was awesome. She was so cool. As poor as she was she still was making the best of it and having a good time. We then walked home. Then I ate some, and now I'm sitting in our office with the window open, living like a Spaniard!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0689s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb