The trip to Spain


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Málaga
February 10th 2008
Published: March 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

After three long days of unpacking all my stuff from my apartment and packing for Spain, my parents and my brother and I headed to the Minneapolis airport. The boys parked the car and I checked in for my flight. Soon after my parents surprised me by also checking in. Thrilled about this idea my mom just said, "we're coming with you!". Really surprised and confused I asked if they were planning on going to Chicago for the weekend. Nope, they flew all the way to Frankfurt with me (the longest part of the trip) and then we split ways and they went to Mallorca for the weekend. They totally had me... apparently my mom slipped up a couple of times but I didn't even notice. Granted I was busy packing and preparing for my trip, but I'm pretty unaware of what goes on around me I guess.

So once I finally get to Malaga, I end up at this really cute hostel called Picasso's corner in the heart of the city. I meet 2 other girls there from the program and we head out for some food and wandering around the streets. The next day we were to meet our host families. We all made a really good first impression by arriving almost an hour late because we decided to save some money and walk to the train station (lugging all of our 6 months-worths of baggage).

My host family consists of a 35 year old lady named Carolina. No joke. She's a lawyer and has a nice, spacious apartment really close to the university. I get my own bedroom and my own bathroom... plus she has a balcony for private nude tanning sessions or whatever you're into. We spent our day off together having lunch, unpacking, and watching a bad movie on TV. Later we went for a walk around the neighborhood and she showed me how to get to the university and which buses to take to go downtown and to the beach.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0368s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb