Alhambra - the Stunning Red Fortress


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Granada
January 27th 2013
Published: January 27th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Took the morning bus to Granada and made sure I wouldn't miss this one by getting to the terminal much earlier. Bus ride was a good 3 hours long, and when breakfast was light and stomach gets hungry easier in the cold, it was pretty enduring. Bought a local 'tourist' map for 1 euro and headed to town. Main hit for today was to the Alhambra and from there, perhaps a few more other sites/sights. Well, as it turns out, I would miss my central bus stop and ended up looking for lunch first. haha. Roamed around in the city centre before taking bus 30 up to Alhambra. The city pretty much reminds me a little of Seville, possesing it's own flavour, yet being infused with foreign brands, making it slightly cosmopolitan.

Well, but what draws me to Granada was really the highly anticipated Alhambra which totally lived up to its expectations. Firstly, I'm not exactly a archi person who is really into like mosque/palaces and that Alhambra fits into that bill. Second, like 2 days ago I was still deciding between Malaga and Granada but decided to give the latter the nod. Never single bit did I regret! With a soft spot for beautiful scenery, (in fact, I'm totally drawn to them!), Alhambra was the combination of exquisite structures in the midst of breathtaking natural sights. I was literally wow-ing when I was at the top of the Alcazaba tower (within Alhambra), having a bird's eye view of the whole city. Coupled that with a backdrop of snowy mountains, it was truly amazing to my eyes. In fact, viewers were treated to alternate views of the Alhambra itself (besides the view of the whole town) from the palace's garden, or so called, the Generalife. The 13Euros ticket was world every bit as I spent a good 3 hours within the compound itself, staring at the scenery, taking short strolls and breaks within the park and admiring the works of the moors so many years back. A must-go if one is in Southern Spain! The photos, hopefully, do not disappoint 😊

Settled for a night in Malaga's airport as I await the morning flight to Barcelona. Next stop, the home of the Catalans!


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement




Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0246s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb