era bloqueado fuera de mi casa


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Granada
July 4th 2008
Published: July 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

si, es la verdad.
last night we went out after dinner to have a few drinks and meet up with some friends. My roommate Sarah is gone now but another girl from our program (her compañera also went home) lives across the street, so we walked around together. Anyway...we hung out at a Café with a fairly large group of people from WSU and also from our school here, including a group from France, here studying Spanish, and a group of Spaniards studying english at our school. Our waiter was this funny old man who reminded me of Elvis and who sang Granada's song with us (we are learning it in our history of art class...I am not sure why other than our teacher is un poco loco and really likes Opera)
Eventually we headed home, being as how it was a school night. None of us had class early, so it was about quarter to three when I got to my building. Well...here is where it gets interesting. I got into the building no problem (I have keys) but when I got up to the door of our apartment, it wouldn't open, even with the keys. It didn't take me long to realize they had dead bolted it!! so, I am locked out at 3 in the morning, in Spain where there are no 24 hour stores or restaurants. Well, I thought to myself, I will just call someone in the house...they will come let me in! Oh wait, (still to myself) you used up all your minutes today. Well, I tried anyway, and this very nice robotic woman told me I didn't have sufficient funds to make this call but if it is an emergency, please dial 091. (the equivalent to 911) I didn't think the Policia would apreciate this kind of emergency, so I didn't opt for that. I tried knocking for about 10 minutes straight, but only managed to wake up the neighbors. oops. it was closing in on 3:15 and I had class at 11; I was getting a bit desperate. I thought to myself, "I would really prefer not to sleep in the hallway." I tried knocking a bit more before I had a stroke of genius (or so it seemed) The boys (two 16 year old americans) sleep with their window open: I will just go outside and try to yell at them. yep, brilliant. We're only on the second floor...well, they didn't hear me. Even when I tried throwing dirt clods at their window, which ended up hitting the window below theirs because apparently (news flash) I have really bad aim. There is a tree next the window that i thought I could maybe climb, but decided it was too small. That and I had to hide from the people in the room below the boys' because I think I woke everyone in our building up EXCEPT my family...:-/
I finally got in because I went outside and buzzed up to our apartment. On the third try, poor Mati finally answered. She told me later she couldn't figure out who would be calling up at 3:30 in the morning: yeah, who would be?? :-/ I did get in and go to sleep and we figured out this morning that Alba thought I was in bed (my door was closed) and that was why she locked it. So here I am feeling terrible I had to wake her up and she's apologizing to me! Saying, this won't happen again, and we're sorry, not a big deal, etc. So, lesson learned... although I am not sure which lesson that is. Buzz in first? :-)

Advertisement



4th July 2008

those darn dead bolts
Oh Kelsey, Reminds me of the time I got locked out of a motel room and I had to break in to get in. I hope your day improves and that you gave me a good giggle this morning. Take care, stacy p.s. Happpy 4th of July
4th July 2008

Bloqueado de su casa...???
Hi There, what about an alternative, not go out until 3:00 a.m.???? just kidding, your familia aqui knows that going out and having drinks and fun, all in the interest of hablando espanol is an important component of this experience... Anyhoo, glad you finally got in safely - we love you lots... Mom, Dad and Speed
7th July 2008

Tennis
Hey Kelsey, I thought of you as I was cheering on Rafael Nadal at Wimbeldon today. They showed celebrations in Spain, as in everyone going nuts, and I wondered if you were in the midst of any of that! Stay safe...Love you, Aunt Sue
10th July 2008

haha
This is a classic Kelsey Rogers story. Love it. Miss you Kels! I love looking at your pictures and reading your blog. So fun!
10th July 2008

yes, well you know me Sara...:-) haha When you're in Mexico will you be putting pictures up so I can see yours?? :-) You must be getting excited!!!

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0441s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb