Alhambra


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Granada
October 25th 2005
Published: October 25th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Still waterStill waterStill water

They called this pond ¨still water¨, I can´t remember what it was called in Arabic, but it meant the water was not potable. The muslims never drank still water only water that was constantly moving.
I finally got to see the infamous Alhambra. I was in awe of how much detail there was. All the walls were hand carved to depict a saying in Arabic that says basically, ¨There is no winner, there is noone better than Alah.¨ It was also really cool because it was naturally air conditioned, there is water running through the whole palace making it cool during the hot Andalucian summer days.

On Saturday, I decided to take a hike, literally, so I started walking up the bike path into the mountains...three hours later I made it to the reservoir. It was a lot of fun to see the back parts of the little towns I passed by. Much like the rest of the world, Granada is in a drought so their reservoir is very low. Hopefully this winter will be so snowy the reservoir will be completley full again.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

PlazaPlaza
Plaza

This was one of the many plazas in the Alhambra. The whole atmosphere of the palace was very inviting. I could almost picture the people standing around talking and laughing in the beautiful plazas.
Intricate TechoIntricate Techo
Intricate Techo

The walls and ceilings were all very intricate, this one had a reflecting pool underneath it so it felt like the floor opened up.
Vista de GranadaVista de Granada
Vista de Granada

This is the view of Granada from the Palace, Que bonita, ¿no?
Plaza de San NicolisPlaza de San Nicolis
Plaza de San Nicolis

This is the view of the Plaza de San Nicolis from the palace, this was the first time I saw the view from the other direction.
En Las MontañasEn Las Montañas
En Las Montañas

On Saturday I hiked from Granada up to the reservoir. It took me about three hours and it was quite a hike, but it was worth it. I need to get my tele-legs ready.
Valle Valle
Valle

You can´t see it, but Granada is way down there.
Valle Valle
Valle

This was the last leg of the journey; up the dam road, past a holding pool and straight on ´til morning.
Para-glidersPara-gliders
Para-gliders

On my way up to the reservoir I saw these guys Para-gliding, it looked like a lot of fun.
Para glidersPara gliders
Para gliders

At one time there were ten guys flying in the air. I was jealous.


25th October 2005

$p@!N
phil i really like your blogs and pictures, feels like im there with you (not really-but close enough)---im in total admiration of everything you're doing so far away. live it up man, cant wait till you get back with tons of stories to tell.

Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0259s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb