Travel and Ljubljana


Advertisement
Slovenia's flag
Europe » Slovenia » Upper Carniola » Ljubljana
July 3rd 2007
Published: February 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

hostel Celicahostel Celicahostel Celica

Former military prison now hostel
Rise and shine buttercup!! Say good bye to the dear friend Lindsey and take off deeper into the unknown, but first things first, let’s call the guapa Camille. She was excited to talk to me and as was I; even though it was 6am in Vienna and she was drunk in Missouri. Ok, onto the train station where I was unsure of my next destination. I had the options of stopping in Maribor or going straight to Ljubljana, the stop would have been a three to four hour delay and would have worked out just fine, but I decided against it. Therefore I jump track 14 and headed towards Ljubljana. This train ride is one of the most beautiful train trips I have ever taken, either way I took a nap. The good news is I woke up and the most beautiful girl in the world was sitting across from me and she was in the mood for a conversation. She was from some place called Grazzihtuckinsafscnose and spoke with the most ridiculously sexy eastern European accent, but she soon left the train for educational purposes… where you ask? MARIBOR!! This was a disappointment, but I wasn’t too worried and
Train rideTrain rideTrain ride

Train from Vienna to Ljubljana
kept training along for a couple more hours. At least I enjoyed a couple more conversations with other people from the region, it is especially entertaining to speak politics with super liberal Europeans.

Alright, destination: Ljubljana, the capitol of Slovenia. First goal get of the train station, second find the hostel, third eat food. After I ate some traditional regional food, McDonald’s and found my way out of this train station that had two exits, but only one that took you anywhere… Off to Hostel Celica, a former military prison turned hostel. I realized the day before I messed up my reservation and made it for the night of the 5th, but I figured I would be ok (obviously not learning from my Rome Easter experience). Sleeping on a bench in the cold rainy weather would have been awesome!! Luckily they carried the one, dotted some I’s, and connected the dots me into a room after about an hour. I took the grand tour of the city, well not really grand tour, but it was a tour. What I mean is I walked around to all three sites the city has to offer. I am not saying it was a boring place, but after Vienna and Prague, there is nothing to see or really do in Ljubljana. I walked up to the completely renovated castle, which was a grave disappointment, which did have a good view. Dragon Bridge, Triple Bridge, The Opera House, a couple little squares with cafés were nice, but overall not to much to see. I think the coolest part of the city was the hostel, but I would go back, because I probably didn’t give it enough of a chance because of the weather.

After a long train ride and a site seeing tour, it was naturally time for a power nap. I probably would of stayed asleep but, the 4th of July celebration in Slovenia was starting at midnight!! WhoooHooo MERICA... F*** YEAH. Ok, the party wasn’t really a party; I went downstairs with one my roomies and had some large beers for a very reasonable price. The most exciting part was guys from California shooting fireworks outside (in the sketchy parking lot area) and having some Slovenia’s yell at them… I thought Yugoslavia was going to start killing kids; they came inside the hostel quickly after they realized these guys were not playing around. After the beers with Dave downstairs, we began speaking to our other roomie Amy I discovered she was going to the lake region the next morning and that is exactly where I wanted to go.



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Ljubljana Castle Ljubljana Castle
Ljubljana Castle

a bit of a boring castle...
PostcardPostcard
Postcard

this was a picture on many postcards... so snip snap ... picture


Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 76; dbt: 0.0933s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb