Day 13 - Slovenia, Izola Jadranka Camp


Advertisement
Slovenia's flag
Europe » Slovenia » Istria » Koper
June 16th 2013
Published: June 16th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Izola - Slovenia Sat 15th of June 2013





Left Lignana at around 11 am. Glad to leave that place because of the determined attack from the local mosquitoes. That camp must be mosquito heaven. Everyday there is a fresh supply of blood.

Avoided the motorways and just drove on the small roads to Slovenia. The countryside was flat, agricultural but pretty.

I was tired by the time I reached the Adriatic coast not far from the campsite. I stopped and had a siesta. By the time I woke up it was about 1.30pm. Continued my journey to the camp site.

My first impression of Slovenia was that it was a quiet and laid back place. there were less cars and even less people on the road. The pace was slower and suited to a traveler like me.



Camp site address:

Avtokamp Jadranka
Polje 8
6310 Izola


The campsite is right on the coast. my car is about 20 feet away from the sea. The cool sea breeze was very soothing and the best bit is that there were less mosquitoes around.

Took the bike out to town and then suddenly the town revealed itself as a beautiful historic town, The buildings were a mixture of Venetian and Italian architecture. Very colourful and attractive.

The bicycle took me to the streets and alley ways the car cannot reach. It was so hot that I decided to have an ice cream cone - 2 scoops, one pistachio and one vanilla.

Everything here is much cheaper in Slovenia compared to France and Switzerland. Fuel, food, and accommodation are also very reasonable.

Izola is a great place. It is one of the few places where I can really relax and recover from the past few days and to prepare myself for the next leg of the journey. On my shortlist as a possible retirement place.



I think the pictures speak for themselves. The wonders of high tech camera equipment. I have been able to capture a few 'panorama' pictures for all you lucky people.





My Euros are running low now because I have not budgeted for things like car parts, road tolls and heavy fuel costs. I have decided to economize and the first thing to go are the luxury items. Tea is now rationed to 3 tea leaves a day. That is just about it. I am cooking for myself everyday, eating vegetarian food, staying in camping sites, driving a clapped out car. What else can I economize on? I am so economized my pot belly is fast disappearing, my health is improving, I am fixing the car myself. My spending is cut to the bones.

In a way, I am lucky that from now on the countries I will be visiting will have a slightly lower standard of living.



The star in Slovenia is not me or the car, but my little folding bike. Two locals asked me "where did you buy the bike?" and "how much is it?". The bike attracted a lot of admiring glances from men when I cycled in town.



Bought some fresh tomatoes and apricot from the market today. For a change, I have decided to make a soup from onion, garlic, lentils and tomatoes. So for dinner, there will be bread from the local bakery with soup, then some rice and beans to satisfy my hunger.



Izola is about a thousand miles from home, so there are another 14 thousand miles or so to destination.



Stale Baguette: Great to keep your gums in good health. Also very good if you happen to run out of food to eat.



Cold showers: From Trieste to Izola, cold showers are very popular in campsites. It does get better the more cold showers I have.



Tonight's soup is a simple dinner but it was nutritious and delicious, perfectly suited for this hot weather here in Slovenia. There is even enough for breakfast tomorrow.



The first destination for tomorrow is Zagreb in Croatia, then may be to Belgrade in Serbia. I will be missing Hungary, I will have to visit the country next time.


Additional photos below
Photos: 34, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 34; dbt: 0.0367s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb