Day 13 - Bratislava


Advertisement
Slovakia's flag
Europe » Slovakia » Bratislava Region » Bratislava
August 11th 2015
Published: August 11th 2015
Edit Blog Post

An early start today as I had to make it to catch the ferry to Bratislava. What a great way to begin the day. The boat ride took around an hour speeding down the Danube. It was amazing seeing all of the residences along the river. What it must be like to live by the river away from everyone. The weather, as it has been for the majority of this trip, is swelteringly hot. When I arrived I didn’t really have much of a plan. I had booked my bus back to Vienna at 8:30pm but the rest of the day was mine to enjoy. Outside the port there was a lady advertising for a castle and town tour for 10euros. The castle was at the top of a hill so I decided that in this weather I could not be arsed walking up myself so I joined the tour. The castle was pretty impressive to see. It had a bright orange roof and 4 large spires. Following the trip up to the castle we went on a 30-minute walking town around the main part of town. It was fun walking around and seeing lots of things that I remembered from last year when my tour group stopped here for a lunch break. Well after the walking tour around the city and a walk around a market area I felt like I had covered the majority of the town. I settled down and had some lunch – Pork Goulash with Dumplings. It was really delicious. The time at this point was around 2:30pm. I was fast realising that I was not going to be able to keep myself entertained in Bratislava – at least without spending far to much money. Luckily I was able to change my bus time to 5:30pm. Entertaining myself with some Gelati and read my book beside the fountain. Then it was time to get my bus back to Vienna. The rest of my night was spent sorting out my suitcase for my departure tomorrow. Prague – last stop before Moscow! I also have the room to myself tonight! Super excited at the prospect of not having to listening to people snoring.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0494s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 7; ; mem: 1.1mb