Bratislava Slovakia Day Trip


Advertisement
Slovakia's flag
Europe » Slovakia » Bratislava Region » Bratislava
October 18th 2009
Published: October 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Austria/Slovakia BorderAustria/Slovakia BorderAustria/Slovakia Border

This rock is the border of the 2 countries.
I didn have much to write about yesterday. Spent the day in Vienna, but not really doing anything worth writing about. It was so cold, so grey, so gloomy, so crowded, so everything. Humbug.

Today was much better. I had to be at the boat dock on the Danube Canal by 8, so was up early. Luckily it is just a few blocks from my hotel. I have to say that I really did a great job picking the hotels. Can complain at all about any of them, especially the locations. The catamaran to Slovakia took a little over an hour. Spent a nice day in Bratislava, the capital of Slovakia. It was very quiet there since it was an overcast Sunday morning. I did see all the sights I wanted to, and a few more. I will put a few pictures up, but you have to see the bridge the Soviets put up. It really does look like the Star Trek Enterprise. I walked across the river since I had so much time. There is an observation deck, but I didn bother due to poor visibility. I could see the overcast greyness just fine from where I was.
Great Little StatueGreat Little StatueGreat Little Statue

Bratislava has these great little statues scattered about.

The sun did come out for an hour or so. I took the opportunity to have lunch outside. Have the most wonderful Czech potato soup with whole grain mustard in it. It was really delicious. The Wiener Schnitzel, well, not so much and the Slovakian potato salad, a HUGE miss. Was still nice to sit outside in the sun for a bit, even if I did have my coat and scarf on the whole time.

Came back on the catamaran and organized and repacked my stuff. Its hard to keep everything in order while moving to a new hotel every 3 days. Have an early train to Salzburg tomorrow, so have to be ready tonight.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Me and My Statue?Me and My Statue?
Me and My Statue?

Ok, so it was a corny play on words, but I liked it.
The CastleThe Castle
The Castle

They are doing a major project on this, so there wasn much to see. It should be nice when they are finished though.
The New BridgeThe New Bridge
The New Bridge

Now tell me this doesn look like the Spaceship Enterprise.
War of the WorldsWar of the Worlds
War of the Worlds

From here it looks like the spaceships from the War of the Worlds
Just a Nice ShotJust a Nice Shot
Just a Nice Shot

Bratislava was very picturesque, at least in the Old Town touristy part where I spent the day
Old TownOld Town
Old Town

And in the sun!
ViennaVienna
Vienna

Thought I would put up a couple Vienna pics from yesterday.
Prater ParkPrater Park
Prater Park

It is in Vienna and was so sad and lonely in this crappy weather.


19th October 2009

Hungry
Hi B, Looks like your having a great time of it despite the weather. I need to look at your blog right after I eat instead of before. If its not the pictures its the descripions. Ha Enjoy

Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0313s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb