A More Quiet Day


Advertisement
Slovakia's flag
Europe » Slovakia » Bratislava Region » Bratislava
July 22nd 2009
Published: July 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Slept in a bit this morning, all the way until 8am! The noise from the street was a little much, so I got up, showered (hogged the double shower bathroom!) and got ready. I took my time, eating breakfast, surfing the net, and then around 10:30 I decided to "check out" and leave my packed bags at the hostel so I could go to the Jewish Synagogue and do some souvenir shopping. Walked to the Jewish Synagogue in the immense heat and took a few pictures. For the oldest synagogue in Europe (I believe that's what they claim) it wasn't THAT great. It was an interesting building, but I guess when I read claims like that, I expect more. Oh well. Decided to use the subway day pass one last time and took the subway back toward my hostel, which was right by the huge indoor market. Did some looking around inside -- it was very much like the St. Lawrence Market in Toronto, except for the Hungarian souvenirs. There wasn't that much I was interested in, so I bought a magnet and headed back to the hostel.

I went to the train station early, got myself seated on the train and wrote some postcards. (After spending a small fortune mailing them today, that's the end of postcards from Europe!) The train ride was pretty uneventful. I started a new book, napped, finished the postcards, looked out the window. Pretty standard train ride stuff.

When I got into Bratislava, I found my hostel right away and did a load of laundry, for free! (Unfortunately, the laundry is still drying outside as I write this. I hope it's dry by tomorrow before I pack my bag to fly home!)

I headed into the Old Town. It's quite pretty here, with a castle (under construction) and many interesting buildings. I wandered for about 2-3 hours, and felt like I saw most of the "important" sights. I don't think I could have managed much more anyway. I'm sooooo tired.

I met three girls from my room, and we sat outside in the garden sharing travel stories. They're all really nice, but their travel stories differ from mine, as they are all in university, and talk about meeting people and partying, and mine are more centred around what I've seen. After getting eaten alive by the mosquitoes, I decided to head in, put some anti-itch cream on, and write my blog. It's only 10:30 now, but I may just go and read for a while before falling asleep. Mostly I think my legs and feet just need to rest.

Tomorrow, I'm flying into Brussels. Not expecting much from that city (as I've been there before and wasn't very impressed) but I'm looking forward to Bruges the following day!

Advertisement



23rd July 2009

Read some of your blog now that we are back from vacation ourselves. It sounds like you are seeing a lot of stuff! We went to Wonderland yesterday -- it held off raining until we returned home. Virginia beach was nice. We'll tell you about when you return.
23rd July 2009

Vacation
Glad to hear that you had a good time in Virginia Beach, Steve. I'll be happy to trade travel stories when I get back. :)

Tot: 0.145s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1192s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb