Back in Belgrade and its good!!!!


Advertisement
Europe » Serbia » West » Belgrade
October 5th 2006
Published: October 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Arrived yesterday after horror flight from Milan - only an hour but Alitalia pilot seemed to think being Italian made him a Fagio or something... He was turning circles (after take-off - did he forget which way to fly???) and tipping plane sideways from left to right and generally acting as if he was dodging birds migrating south...

Belgrade has freshened up in the 3 years I've been gone. The airport is a little crisper (although some bright paint might make it a little more welcoming) and Passport Control have learnt please and thank you and to smile. Biggest change - no more interrogations..., in fact no one asked me why I was coming at all. But speaking a little Serbian might have been the reason. The young American lad behind me was given a bit more of a grilling (although brief and harmless) before he too was let through to visit his Serbian girlfriend he'd met in Switzerland the month before... And yes, the Serbs are that vivacious you'll fall head over heels that quickly!

The ride into the city had two major differences too. Firstly the roadsides and place in general is cleaner, no roadside rubbish and bedraggled look. Secondly there is a big increase in traffic which I think is bcause the economy slowly but surely is pickin up. And its certainly a country of opportunity for a creative investor...

I managed to find great accomodation, booked beofre I left Australia, and it really was everything it said it would be. You can't trust the hype in Australia which tends to overstate things, but this was on the money, and a 38sqm apartment in the heart of the city in the Skadarlija area for 50euros a night is VERY good anywhere.

Sites for finding apartments in Belgrade are:
www.domovina.com (this apartment is through them!)
www.beorent.com
www.jugostan.co.yu
www.bandbinb.com
www.rezimeapartments.co.yu
www.beograd.demon.nl

Belgrade bakeries are the best in the world and you haven't had breakfast until you had burek sa sirom i jogurt. Beware - their jogurt is actually a drink, the stuff you get elsewhere is called Kisela Mleko (sour milk).

Well, thats enough for one day that included very smoky business meetings (I think smoking is compulsory subject you have to pass in school here - EVERYONE smokes, and normal smoking etiquette is leave the room if you're allergic as you are abnormal!!)

Goodnight!



Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



26th January 2009

Skadarlija apartment,Belgrade
Hello,i'm the owner of Skadarlija apartment,please recommend us to your friends and please add our contact number and mail to your internet page +38163663937 mail:plavsic.s@sbb.rs Best regards,Nena
5th April 2009

Skadarlija Apartment
Happy to Nena. Sorry I haven't been on my site in ages but just saw your post on January 2009. Am coming back to Belgrade in August with my husband and baby son this time, but will stay in Avala at our house in the country. I recommend your aprtment to everyone as I loved staying there... Is the rose I left growing?
5th April 2009

GREAT FLAT IN BELGRADE!!!!!!!!!!!!
January 26th 2009 - Nena Plavsic: Skadarlija apartment,Belgrade Hello,i'm the owner of Skadarlija apartment,please recommend us to your friends and please add our contact number and mail to your internet page +38163663937 mail:plavsic.s@sbb.rs Best regards,Nena April 5th 2009 - Author's Reply Bonica: Skadarlija Apartment Happy to Nena. Sorry I haven't been on my site in ages but just saw your post on January 2009. Am coming back to Belgrade in August with my husband and baby son this time, but will stay in Avala at our house in the country. I recommend your aprtment to everyone as I loved staying there... Is the rose I left growing?

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0327s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb